Spicy South of the Border Spinach Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I added a pinch of garlic to the saute'd onion. I also only had cream cheese spread with chives on hand so I used that. For a little more heat, I used Pepper Jack cheese. Lastly I used 3/4 cup 1% milk, not half & half, and about 1/2 a tsp of corn starch to keep the milk making it too watery... This was cleaned out in seconds! Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was good, everyone seemed to enjoy it. It was not really spicy, though. A little time consuming, but had good flavor. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
YUMMMMMY! Very good. Can also be made with regular/skim milk instead of the cream. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this for my Bunco party, and was asked for the recipe several times. I loved that it was so easy to make, and actually made quite a bit. The dip was delicious and spicy - a welcome change from the traditional spinach dip with the mayo, water chestnuts, etc. I did substitute two cans of Rotel for the tomatoes and chilis. I may use mild Rotel next time, depending on who's eating. It was great, but definitely too spicy for kids. Also used only 8 oz. of a Mexican shredded cheese blend and it was plenty. I also added a few cloves of minced garlic. The tiny bit I had leftover reheated nicely in the microwave the next day. I'll definitely make this one again, probably sooner than later because I'm still craving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was really good. We doubled the recipe for a party, but there was no need. Even a single recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
this dip is amazing and is always the first to be eaten at parties! I am constantly giving out the recipe - very tasty! I use a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis instead of the can of whole tomatoes and can of chilis to make it easier. Will continue making this for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is sooooo delicious! I have made this dip many times, and every time I get rave reviews about it. I pretty much follow the recipe, but would like to give a couple of hints - the spinach needs to be drained really, really well. Instead of using a can of whole tomatoes, I use a can of diced tomatoes (drained) as it is just easier. I usually use a blended cheese mix that has a bit of kick to it. I don't add any salt. Oh, and I have tried it with both onions and green onions, on separate occasions, and both were good. I really recommend this recipe to anyone. It's easy and doesn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was awesome! Done this 3 X already for parties.... I have made this exactly as written and then also with a small can of diced jalenpenos(sp?)instead of the green chilis cuz I was out that day/with 2 cans of rotel instead of the tomatoes(I was out of the tomatoes) Sprinkle cumin on top (I am generous with it) and this goes from good to die for. There is never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I originally got it at a party about 13 years ago. I make it often, people RAVE about it - even the ones that claim to hate spinach! I do sub jalepenos for the chili peppers, use the pre-grated mexican cheese mix or somtimes use a mix of pepper jack and cheddar (I like the recipe a little spicier). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States