Spicy South of the Border Spinach Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used original rotel, instead of the whole, peeled tomatoes as well and substituted with cream because that is what I had in my refrigerator. I also asked my husband to get the Monterey Jack cheese, and he came back with a pre-shredded Monterey cheese blend. Which that ended up being nice, because I was not looking forward to shredding cheese! The recipe turned out delicious! I highly recommend! If you like spicy, I would highly recommend the original rotel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I really hate leaving bad reviews and especially so on this one because it has so many good reviews already. I did not care for this dip because there wasn't any really good flavor or seasonings in it. I made the recipe exactly as written and in order to make it again I would have to "doctor" it up so much that I just feel like there are better recipes for this type of dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and brought it to a bunch of parties. Am about to make it again tonight for movie night. What I especially like is that the recipe is forgiving and it works well with modifications if you don't have all the ingredients on hand. For example, I only used the half & half once and usually substitute milk (only 1/2 cup) or nothing at all. We often have bags of shredded cheddar so I throw that in instead of jack cheese. And I've made it with varying amounts of cream cheese too. Rotel is a nice substitution as are diced tomatoes. This is a great recipe base and perfect for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Had a friend make this at a get together. Best spinach dip I've ever had. Everyone couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great basic, but needs a lot of extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. I served this at a Super Bowl get together and all of the guys said it was: "Dynamite!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgotten-english

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was a winner! My whole family almost ate all of it before I could taste it. We are only a family of 4 and I made a recipe and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My ol'man loved this! "restaurant quality" he proclaimed! Mission accomplished... I added black olives and subbed 2% milk for half and half...upping the cheese to compensate...the mixed bags of shredded cheese are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was pretty good, but the melted cheese tended to give it a bit of a lumpy, grainy texture. I think next time I'll try substituting some american processed cheese for a smoother texture. Nice flavor, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Sooooo good! Low fat cream cheese and fat free 1/2 & 1/2. I only used 1/4c of that.....way moist enough.....served with tortilla chips. Cheesey yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States