Spicy South of the Border Spinach Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
This was amazing! The only thing I changed was I used a can of petite diced tomatoes with green chiles. I had the girls over and this was a huge hit. I served it with pita chips. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Made this for a dinner party and the guests ate so much of it no one had room for dinner. It was fantastic. I used shreded 4 cheese Mexican blend cheese but that was the only change I made. I think the next time I'll probably just use a can of diced tomato and green chiles instead of the two separate cans of whole tomato and green chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIE2SHU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used original rotel, instead of the whole, peeled tomatoes as well and substituted with cream because that is what I had in my refrigerator. I also asked my husband to get the Monterey Jack cheese, and he came back with a pre-shredded Monterey cheese blend. Which that ended up being nice, because I was not looking forward to shredding cheese! The recipe turned out delicious! I highly recommend! If you like spicy, I would highly recommend the original rotel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I really hate leaving bad reviews and especially so on this one because it has so many good reviews already. I did not care for this dip because there wasn't any really good flavor or seasonings in it. I made the recipe exactly as written and in order to make it again I would have to "doctor" it up so much that I just feel like there are better recipes for this type of dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and brought it to a bunch of parties. Am about to make it again tonight for movie night. What I especially like is that the recipe is forgiving and it works well with modifications if you don't have all the ingredients on hand. For example, I only used the half & half once and usually substitute milk (only 1/2 cup) or nothing at all. We often have bags of shredded cheddar so I throw that in instead of jack cheese. And I've made it with varying amounts of cream cheese too. Rotel is a nice substitution as are diced tomatoes. This is a great recipe base and perfect for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Had a friend make this at a get together. Best spinach dip I've ever had. Everyone couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great basic, but needs a lot of extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. I served this at a Super Bowl get together and all of the guys said it was: "Dynamite!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgotten-english

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was a winner! My whole family almost ate all of it before I could taste it. We are only a family of 4 and I made a recipe and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My ol'man loved this! "restaurant quality" he proclaimed! Mission accomplished... I added black olives and subbed 2% milk for half and half...upping the cheese to compensate...the mixed bags of shredded cheese are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Holiday Hot Spinach Dip

Cheesy, creamy spinach and artichoke baked appetizer dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States