Spicy Smoky Macaroni and Cheese with Turkey Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I have tried this receipe and it is great...one of the best marcaroni and cheese receipes that I have tried and I have tried a lot. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I tried this over the weekend and served it to the guys at my firehouse. It was very good. I added more cayenne and smoked paprika. Very creamy and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this mac and cheese as written only changing the turkey bacon for real bacon. My only reason for using real bacon is because I prefer it over turkey bacon. Excellent! I found it to be creamy with just the right amount of spice. Thanks for posting because it is a great mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Family loved it. Favorite new recipe !!! Simply tastes AMAZING !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylorbrooke
Home Town: Thurmont, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
We loved this! Very unique recipe and easy to make. I thought it was spicy as written but my wife, who can eat hot sauce by the spoonful didn't so she added more cayenne. Either way, we both loved it. If you are looking for a tasty and easy mac & cheese, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good recipe. I couldn't find smoked paprika so i used Spanish paprika (was told they are one in the same) I followed the recipe exactly but I think I will cut it in half next time as this makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was very good! I couldnt find smoked paprika anywhere so I ended up using a little bit of liquid smoke and some chipotle in adobo for a little smokey flovor and some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Photo by PureIce23
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
First..as the person who submitted this recipe..I would like to thank everyone who tried it. Second - Yes I do agree that real cheese is always better than Velvetta..but Velvetta does melt smoothly and less greasy than cheddar, for example.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this mac and cheese on New Year's Eve as a side dish to a BBQ chicken recipe I have. My guests as well as myself thought that it was very flavorful with a wonderful creaminess. I didn't find it to be overly spicy as written so I added a bit more ground red pepper and a dash of liquid smoke in addition to the smoked paprika. I did not add the turkey bacon into the mac and cheese itself. Instead I let the bacon cool completely then put it in my food processor on "grind" until it had the consistancy of bread crumbs then sprinkled it on top. When making mac and cheese, I usually use a mix of cheddar and American cheese but I thought that the Velveeta melted wonderfully and made this mac and cheese extremely smooth and creamy. I will definitely be making this again, perhaps for the Superbowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeaFor2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Oh it bothers me to no end when people give a recipe they haven't even tried a negative rating just because they don't like how it looks or ingredients listed. I would consider myself a mac and cheese aficionado. I have been eating the stuff since I am a kid and tried many different versions. I liked this version because of the smoky and spiciness of it. I used apple wood smoked bacon instead of turkey bacon. Yes, Velvetta isn't the best thing in the world for you but it makes a darn good mac and cheese! Great recipe. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States