Spicy Smoky Macaroni and Cheese with Turkey Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this mac and cheese as written only changing the turkey bacon for real bacon. My only reason for using real bacon is because I prefer it over turkey bacon. Excellent! I found it to be creamy with just the right amount of spice. Thanks for posting because it is a great mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this mac and cheese on New Year's Eve as a side dish to a BBQ chicken recipe I have. My guests as well as myself thought that it was very flavorful with a wonderful creaminess. I didn't find it to be overly spicy as written so I added a bit more ground red pepper and a dash of liquid smoke in addition to the smoked paprika. I did not add the turkey bacon into the mac and cheese itself. Instead I let the bacon cool completely then put it in my food processor on "grind" until it had the consistancy of bread crumbs then sprinkled it on top. When making mac and cheese, I usually use a mix of cheddar and American cheese but I thought that the Velveeta melted wonderfully and made this mac and cheese extremely smooth and creamy. I will definitely be making this again, perhaps for the Superbowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeaFor2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great. I stay away for velveeta and processed cheeses. GO to the deli and buy american cheese ENDS. The ends are excellent for cooking and delis usually sell them for $1.99-$2.99 lb... a great bargain and no preservatives like velveeta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holmes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PureIce23
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
First..as the person who submitted this recipe..I would like to thank everyone who tried it. Second - Yes I do agree that real cheese is always better than Velvetta..but Velvetta does melt smoothly and less greasy than cheddar, for example.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
The flavor was pretty good, but I thought the cheese had an odd texture. I never use Velveeta so I was unsure what to expect. I was not pleased by the way it was just kind of sticky, more like peanut butter than cheese. If I made again, I would switch cheese types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good recipe. I couldn't find smoked paprika so i used Spanish paprika (was told they are one in the same) I followed the recipe exactly but I think I will cut it in half next time as this makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was very good! I couldnt find smoked paprika anywhere so I ended up using a little bit of liquid smoke and some chipotle in adobo for a little smokey flovor and some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I tried this over the weekend and served it to the guys at my firehouse. It was very good. I added more cayenne and smoked paprika. Very creamy and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I have tried this receipe and it is great...one of the best marcaroni and cheese receipes that I have tried and I have tried a lot. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
We loved this! Very unique recipe and easy to make. I thought it was spicy as written but my wife, who can eat hot sauce by the spoonful didn't so she added more cayenne. Either way, we both loved it. If you are looking for a tasty and easy mac & cheese, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States