Spicy Smoky Macaroni and Cheese with Turkey Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this last week w/o the bacon since 2 of my boys don't like it. It turned out great and everyone enjoyed it. Came out a little dry so maybe next time I'll add a little more cheese sauce but other than that it was awesome and I will definitely be making this again probably for my Super Bowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Sorry, didn't care for this at all! Not sure if its the recipe itself, or if my family just doesn't like Velveeta cheese. Either way didn't like this at all. No spice could be tasted at all. Tasted like a big bowl of processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This mac and cheese was delicious! Although, I had to give it 4 stars instead of 5 simply because it's not the healthiest of meals. All that gooey cheese and cream made for a hearty rich dinner, but the calorie, fat, & cholesterol counts made it a bit of a buzz kill for me. I felt like I needed to serve it with a side of Lipitor. I will make this "once in a while" as an unhealthy guilty pleasure dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great Mac & Cheese. Friend said it was the best he's ever had. Thanks for sharing! Not big on smoke flavoring so just used all regular paprika, also diced up some tomatoes, green pepper, and onion, sautéed in the bacon grease (what there was of it) and added them in for some veggies. Leftovers made a tasty lunch the next day, microwaved just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very good! I substitute proscutto for the back and used real cheddar cheese, we don't care for processed cheese food. My family said it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Yum!!! I was a little hesitant especially with the turkey bacon, but it was wonderful. It also re-heats beautifully. I might try a different type of pasta next time. The shells stuck together and I had to pull them apart, which was a pain, but that didn't take away from the recipe. I also might add a touch more cayenne pepper just because I love spicy. Yum Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have to say, this was very tasty. I loved the smoky / spicy. Very different and a great new spin on an old favorite! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this last night and used apple wood smoked bacon as another user suggested. It was great. I didn't think the cheese had a weird texture at all. It melted smoothly and was very creamy. Great for a quick, comforting weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2boysdad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jakeaba
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Made this, but added diced jalapenos and tabasco to the mix.........turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jakeaba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Oh it bothers me to no end when people give a recipe they haven't even tried a negative rating just because they don't like how it looks or ingredients listed. I would consider myself a mac and cheese aficionado. I have been eating the stuff since I am a kid and tried many different versions. I liked this version because of the smoky and spiciness of it. I used apple wood smoked bacon instead of turkey bacon. Yes, Velvetta isn't the best thing in the world for you but it makes a darn good mac and cheese! Great recipe. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States