Spicy Slow Cooker Mac-n-Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made exactly as directed. The noodles became total mush long before the allotted time. I didn't care for the sausage and since it was not in for very long, its flavor did not permeate the dish, and the sausage itself didn't get nice and soft like other sausage slow cooker recipes that I make. Add to that the cost of this recipe after you hunt down andouille sausage (6.99 for the package, the ONLY type at my grocery store) and I was looking at $15 for a pretty generic meal. It seems like this would be made just as easily making the sauce on the stove and preparing the noodles separately to give them the best consistency. On the positives - I thought that the sauce was really great. It's nice and creamy and quite tasty. I know it seems blasphemous to not use real cream or milk in mac and cheese but I always find that dishes made with cream sauce never reheat very nicely. If I make this again I will forget the sausage and go straight for mac-n-cheese, and only if I can get the entire dish for under $5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I just wanted to start off saying that I omitted the sausage since no one in my house is a sausage fan. Besides that, I followed the directions to a T, I stirred often, etc., but the end result was not so good. The pasta was very "glue like" and completely lost its shape, I actually had to cut into it since it was to mushy to scoop out. Unfortunately, it wasn't a hit, but I'm rating it 4 stars, because I didn't add the sausage and that may have been why this recipe didn't turn the way I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've made this recipe several times with no changes whatsoever. Which is why I'm reviewing it AS IS, unlike many reviewers here who rate the recipe then proceed to list 5-25 changes. Not fair to the issuers of these recipes. I love to read recipes, but it really scrapes my rear-end to have all these "ratings" that include a jillion changes and modifications. Please respect the generous souls that share their recipes here! (By the way, this mac-n-cheese recipe is great for those of us on the run) Prepare it like the recipe states, THEN make changes if you wish. If your changes are delicious, be daring and post a new recipe. But don't be surprised when others completely change your recipe then have the audacity to give you a low rating. (Soap box closed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I didnot care for this recipe....sorry...im hoping i did something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this without the meat and found there weren't enough noodles so I boiled some more and added them after. The noodles that were cooked in the slow cooker were very mushy but I kind of liked them that way (I am pregnant though). It was annoying to have to get up and stir so often. If I make it again I'll probably only cook it for an hour to avoid the mushy noodles and constant stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very good but I would suggest using only 1/2 cup of each type of cheese. Mine came out way too cheesy using 1 cup of each type. Also the sausage taste takes over. I didnt mind but my wife did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made this without the meat and it came out delicious. The pasta was definitely overcooked, but not in a particularly bad way. The sauce was very cheesy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
The shells were mushy, I only cooked it an hour. It would have been better to cook the shells on the stove and add them in at the end. The flavor was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I think I may have added the sour cream too late, but the noodles were very soft, overcooked, and the whole dish was a little soupy and not very well homogenized due partly to my mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was excellent but I made a few changes. 1) I used 1.5c shredded Cheddar cheese and 1/2c Mozzarella. 2) I used half a kielbasa instead of a spicy sausage. 3) I didn't season at all, it was already enough from the soups. My son (23m) ate his entire bowl and my husband went back for seconds. I will change the cheeses next time and probably use less water (way too much sauce). I'll try different pasta (smaller) and more kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States