Spicy Slow Cooker Mac-n-Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I dropped the andouille - just not my taste, but added some chili powder! Loved this recipe. So cheesy and tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Me and my co worker tried this recipe two different ways: 1)Slow cooker: We used all ingredients, this was not that good at all, didnt really have a taste to it. It was mushy as the other reviews stated, The noodles had no form anymore, however i do agree it was cheesy, but i love cheesy mac 2)Baked: We used all ingredients advised but instead of in the slow cooker, we put it in the oven and instead of andouille sausage we used chorizo. It was pretty good, although seemed a little bland to me but alot better than the slow cooker way however, baking it definitely needed more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made this according to directions and the consistency was awful. It was entirely too thick and extremely difficult to scoop out of the crockpot. I would make this again, but in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I really didnt like this dish at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Ive made this 3 or 4 times now just like it says to. I think its great and very easy. It definately helps to stir every 15 to 30 mins though. Made a double batch this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepaulguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
After reading all the reviews, I took the advice of everyone and grilled the Kielbasa first, Browning it. While I added the Soup mix, water and I also added 1 can of Diced tomatoes with green chilies. I let them marry for an hour (with the Kielbasa). I proceeded to add the shells after 1 hour on High, I originally planned on only cooking the shells 1 hour but checked them after 45 minutes and they were perfect. I used almost a cup of sour cream and 1 cup colby-jack and 1 cup of sharp cheddar. It turned out pretty good, nothing to write home to mom about. Until 7 hours later when I reheated it and it was like I got it from some expensive restaurant. I also added about 5 healthy dashes of hot sauce in the beginning. It turned out pretty good. The whole reason I made this dish is because I had some Kielbasa I had to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was really good, and I am a fan of using raw pasta. My only complaint was that it seemed a little dry, so I added a bit more water (I like creamy mac and cheese). I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Pasta in soup does not cook well uncooked in my cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Next time I would omit water and use pepperjack instead of mozzorella. I cooked noodles separate as others suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made exactly as directed. The noodles became total mush long before the allotted time. I didn't care for the sausage and since it was not in for very long, its flavor did not permeate the dish, and the sausage itself didn't get nice and soft like other sausage slow cooker recipes that I make. Add to that the cost of this recipe after you hunt down andouille sausage (6.99 for the package, the ONLY type at my grocery store) and I was looking at $15 for a pretty generic meal. It seems like this would be made just as easily making the sauce on the stove and preparing the noodles separately to give them the best consistency. On the positives - I thought that the sauce was really great. It's nice and creamy and quite tasty. I know it seems blasphemous to not use real cream or milk in mac and cheese but I always find that dishes made with cream sauce never reheat very nicely. If I make this again I will forget the sausage and go straight for mac-n-cheese, and only if I can get the entire dish for under $5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States