Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
THis recipe is so easy and so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
This was a great tasteing dish, we loved it. The kids thought it was to spicey.I added a pound of kilbasa at the end of the cook time,and it made a great dish evan better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for black bean soup. I was afraid it would be too spicy, but decided to try it without adjusting the spices. When done, I blended approximately 2 cups of the recipe and returned it to the slow cooker. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I only used the cumin and chili powder and it came out great!!! I also added a ham hock to it. When it was done, diced the meat and put it all over a bed of rice. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Hartman Chapman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I have been looking for a spicy black bean soup recipe for years! They all seem to have ham/ham hock in them and are meatier rather than spicy. This was great! Very spicy and I even left out the hot sauce, figuring that I could add it later (my husband is a baby!). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Very good and very easy! No more buying canned black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Incredibly easy and tasty. It wasn't as spicy as I thought it might be, but since tastes differ in our house, we put the tobasco on the table. Served with brown rice it makes the perfect lunch or dinner on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This recipe was so good, and very good for you! Did not need meat or anything. I like it with a big spoonful of sour cream in each bowl! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I was surprised - it was very, very good. I added smoked ham hocks and I didn't have a jalapeno pepper or chili sauce when I threw it in the crockpot. I planned to buy it early enough to be able to add it, but didn't get around to it. I thought it would turn out bland or lacking, but the cayenne and chili powder really added a lot of great taste. An hour before it was finished, I blended some of the beans and it thickened the soup perfectly. We had leftovers for two days and it was just as delicious. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Great basic black bean soup... add a ham bone to the beans while they are cooking and you will not be sorry! I serve it with pico de gallo and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States