Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a good soup! I used slightly more than a pound of beans, only 4 cups broth and it was still more runny than I'd like. It's spicy, but for me, just the right amount. It is good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Made this in a slow cooker. YUMMY! I used Black beans, Cranberry beans. I rinsed them and boiled them and covered them over night. I sauteed onion, garlic, red pepper flakes, & japs in EVOO and then it all goes in the slow cooker. Top w/Pico De Gallo or chopped onions, sour cream and cilantro! Thank you TOOBUSY2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I cut the spices in half and didn't use the hot sauce and it was still pretty spicy. That's a matter of taste, but I can't imagine what it would have been with all the chili powder and cayenne. It was VERY soupy, even with removing 2-3 cups of the beans at the end and blending them to make it creamy. I didn't love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My beans were a little firm in the crock pot. I should have boiled them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Added a lot of extras to this dish because we had them on hand, but the base was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This might be my favorite soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Perfect and tons of flavor! I made a little pico to go on top and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Sauteed garlic, onion, carrot, celery and mushroomsin a little olive oil. Used canned beans and chicken stock. Put it through food processor. Found it plenty spicy enough without hot pepper sauce. Enjoyed it with ribbons of spinach and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Pretty good but a little watery. Do NOT increase liquid- if anything decrease it a little bit. I also took some out and blended it up to make it a little thicker. Pretty good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very simple, easy recipe with tons of flavor. I made some additions based on other reviews. I added a can of Rotel, 1/4 c chopped cilantro, a quarter of an onion (chopped), and the juice of a small lime. I brought the beans to a boil on the stovetop for about 5 minutes before starting them in the crockpot. Before serving the soup, I put 3 cups of the soup in the blender and blended it well, then put it back in the soup. That really made into a soup and not just beans, for me. The only thing is that the soup was a little thin for me. My husband didn't mind at all though, he ate almost the whole pot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States