Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Allow more time to cook for tender beans. Didn't add jalapenos and cut the chili powder quantity down to 2 tsp instead of the 1 tbsp. Added 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chili's. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe base. I am a vegetarian so I swapped the chicken broth for vegetable broth. I prefer spicy food so I tripled the spices. I served it over brown rice with grilled tofu. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
great recipe. I added the end of a honey ham to the crock pot and cooked all day on low. Husband loved it and he usually doesn't like black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is very good! I cut the black pepper in half and added just a pinch of the cayenne and left the hot pepper sauce altogether, for the sake of the 6 little ones in the house. :) Hubby and I added a generous amount of Tabasco at the table. I made some yellow rice and served it in the bowl with the soup, with freshly cut homegrown tomatoes on top, with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. YUMMY! Will be on my regular menu plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is the best of black bean soups! I doubled the dry spices rather than use the jalapeno and it had just the right amount of kick. I like using dry beans instead of canned beans. This soup is better than the black bean soup you'll find in most restaurants. I have already shared it with all four of my daughters. Great job! (Easy to make a nice vegetarian version, too, simply by using vegetable broth instead of chicken broth.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Not your ordinary Black Bean Soup. I made this for dinner tonight and my husband requested the 5 star review. Changes I made: I added a diced onion, added a 28 oz can of tomatoes, used 2 lbs of dried beans, did not add jalapeno instead I added Tabasco, chipotle hot sauce and doubled all other spices. A great basic recipe that I adjusted to our tastes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Definitely spicy! I removed some of the liquid and then put it through the cuisinart. I like my soup thicker and it was awesome! The 2nd time I made it I reduced the jalapenos and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an excellent recipe you may want to make extra; I'm making it a 2nd time in 2 weeks! The only adjustment I made was to use sweet bell peppers instead of the jalapenos because I was serving it to daycare children. I also cooked it for an extra day in the crock pot on low heat to have a softer bean, and that was only as a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I really did not like this one. It was spicy but had no flavor, strangely. Was it my chicken broth? I don't know.....but I have to find some way to salvage this. I'm going to add corn, peppers, onions, and tomatoes tomorrow to kick up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I thought this was great. I followed the idea of adding Rotel - because how could that be bad. Plus, I didn't have any jalapenos on hand, so figured that would add some spice. I cut back a little on the cayenne and boosted the hot sauce a bit. Then used the immersion blender to give it a little smoothness. Mmmm - can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States