Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Easy and good. My favorite kind of meal. I didn't boil the beans, just soaked overnight and they were fine, but I understand how boiling would make the consistency better. I didn't have quite enough stock, so I used 2 cups of water to get enough moisture which actually turned out good since it is quite a spicy soup and I was making this for a friend who doesn't embrace spice quite like I do, so the water helped mute the spice just a little. A little sour cream and cheese on the final product and you have a yummy and filling dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I am rating this 3 stars because it took forever to cook. The taste was 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I adore this recipe. It has been my go-to recipe for dried black beans for a couple years now. I make large batches and freeze them in smaller portions. I use it for black beans in recipes all year. In cold weather months, I take it out and eat it as soup. It's so versatile and delicious. I've had people ask me how I flavored my black beans in various dishes I've prepared, and I always refer them back to this one. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
We really enjoyed the flavor of this soup- I did decrease the jalapenos. The only problem is the texture of the beans- we don't think the slow cooker gets them soft enough, even after soaking. I agree with the review that says to boil them first on the stovetop, if you are expecting a soft bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I followed a lot of the tips from reviewers and added a can of diced tomatoes, diced onion, etc, and I toned down the spice a lot because I'm weak sauce that way. It was really yummy and super easy to make. Topped with shredded mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rehovot, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Too spicy for us but I used tomatoes with peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This just didn't do it for us. I cut back on the "hot stuff"--reduced the jalapenos and eliminated the hot sauce and the cayenne. But it was still way too hot. And other than hot, it didn't have much flavor. We ended up tossing this out after a couple of days since no one wanted a second meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The flavor of this soup is amazing! I was afraid it would be too spicy, but with a dollop of sour cream it is just right. One thing that I wold change is the amount of liquid. It seemed to be too thin. Other than that it was wonderful and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
The recipe, as is, is not bad. However, I did find it a little bland. It wasn't until I found a packet of Goya Ham flavoring that the recipe came alive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I just made this and agree with others that it's very hot. Cutback on cayenne and chili powder and skipped Tabasco. Used a hand blender, but left some whole beans. It's on the thin side, but that's what I've been looking for. A Mexican restaurant used to serve a soup like this with sides of onions, salsa, cilantro, cheese, avocado, fried tortilla chips, and sour cream. This is the perfect base to serve with those sides and let guests customize their bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States