Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
i wasn't trying to make a soup out of this but wanted some direction to cook black beans from scratch as my first attempt was a fail.. glad i read wannabechef7's review.. i made sure to bring the beans to a boil (after 6 hours of soaking) and then after 4 hours of being on high in the crock pot it was nearly done.. turned it down to low for about an hour and it was completely done.. i omitted the jalapeno, cayenne, and hot pepper sauce because i wanted more generic black beans.. used beef broth in place of chicken.. this was awesome.. ty so much for the recipe and new found confidence in making black beans! ~~UPDATE: this time i added all the ingredients.. i cut the cayenne in half and it had a nice bite on the end.. i still used beef bouillon for the chicken broth.. it was a nice variation for what i'm used to.. ty again for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! I simmered the beans for 10 minutes and allowed them to soak overnight. The texture was perfect. Based on other reviewers, and knowing I don't like super spicy foods, I only put in 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, and I served it with a dollop of sour cream. Otherwise I stayed true to the recipe. Excellent! The leftovers are fantastic for lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
As I am a vegetarian, I substituted the chicken broth for vegetable. Was a little bland, next time will add onions, green peppers and tomatoes. And if you use dry beans, either boil them on the stove top or add lots more time than 6 hours to your crock pot time. Dry beans will not get quite as tender in the pot in 6 hours even if you soak them overnight. All in all, good soup though. Will for sure make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
It was Ok - I soaked black beans overnight, placed in the slow cooker with the rest of the ingredients and decreased the chili powder to 1/2 tablespoon. I also pureed some of the beans during the last 30 minutes of cooking to make it thick. Served over rice, with shredded cheese, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scubies Dad
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Once again, a good base for an amazing soup! Make it your own. I added quite a few flavors. I placed a whole diced onion, 3 carrots,4 slices of bacon and I was very generous on the Cumin, Cayenne, and pepper. To really smooth it out, I brought in my hand blender after 4 hours to make it much more creamy. I also cheated and added some cream cheese, half a package. Dress it with some Cilantro and a great Zinfandel and WOW...a great soup. Don't forget, season to you and your families tastes. We like it spicy at my house! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubies Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is so good! I am a guy who cannot boil water, but I made this in less than 10 minutes and is my favorite soup. I used real jalapenos and reduced sodium chicken broth. I think a little ground pork or beef would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this for a church potluck, so I omitted the jalapeños and hot sauce, added a can of Rotel Mild. It was still very spicy while maintaining a great savory flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APACHEAV8RIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Easy and good. My favorite kind of meal. I didn't boil the beans, just soaked overnight and they were fine, but I understand how boiling would make the consistency better. I didn't have quite enough stock, so I used 2 cups of water to get enough moisture which actually turned out good since it is quite a spicy soup and I was making this for a friend who doesn't embrace spice quite like I do, so the water helped mute the spice just a little. A little sour cream and cheese on the final product and you have a yummy and filling dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I am rating this 3 stars because it took forever to cook. The taste was 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I adore this recipe. It has been my go-to recipe for dried black beans for a couple years now. I make large batches and freeze them in smaller portions. I use it for black beans in recipes all year. In cold weather months, I take it out and eat it as soup. It's so versatile and delicious. I've had people ask me how I flavored my black beans in various dishes I've prepared, and I always refer them back to this one. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States