Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I loved it. but too spicy for Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This has become a regular; I probably make it every two or three weeks. I was surprised at how rich and flavorful this soup is! I've started adding fresh green pepper and onion, and usually try to use organic black beans as they are only slightly more in cost but taste amazing in this soup. I also like to add chunks of smoked ham and through in sour cream at the end to make it more creamy. Also, to make it less soupy I usually use only 4 or 5 cups of chicken broth, 6 tends to make it too watery. The best part of this dish is that I can throw it in the crock pot in the morning and eat it 12 hours later. It's one of those few dishes that the longer you cook, the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I'm going to give this 5 stars, as I think it's a great base recipe. I thought the spice level was perfect, it had that kind of heat I look for in a comfort soup, something perfect on a cold day, etc. I chose the option of blending parts of my soup, also added cornstarch to make it creamier. I added a can of diced tomatoes. It's a good base everyone can take and then add the things they like. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I'm no expert, but this was like spicy water with black beans when I went to turn it to low. I added another can of black beans, put about 1/3 of the "soup" in the blender, and added cornstarch to thicken it. After all that it was more like a soup. Also, I LOVE spicy foods but this is a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Easy and tasty. I didn't have jalapeno, so I used dried red chili. Still nicely spicy. I also added onion, carrot and celery to mine, sauteed with the spices before I added it all to the crockpot. Seems like a really adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
super simple to make and taste great. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this soup for my family and even the Grandchildern liked it. I added a little extra Mexican Chili pepper but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
5 stars!!! I followed this recipe almost exactly- I did change chicken broth to veggie broth and I zapped it through the food processor to make it creamy. I just love the texture of it pureed. SO HEALTHY, AND YUMMY! Definitely one to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Good base to make soup. After making changes and additions, it was wonderful. Cut spices in half. blended about half of the beans to help thicken. Added can of drained diced tomatoes, drained can corn, cilantro, chopped green onion, lime juice and the end result was 5 star. Served with crushed tortillas, cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephmac
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I thought this was a fantastic soup. I made it as directed except added half a can of corn because my boyfriend just loves corn and threw in some cooked chicken drumsticks - also because he loves meat. The spice amount is perfect, its incredibly tasty. I just love this soup! Perfect for a cold evening. I served it with a dollop of sour cream and a bit of shredded cheese on top. SUPER YUM. Thanks for this recipe! Definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephmac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 141-150 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States