Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I am going to try to make this again, but I made it with canned black beans, and it needed more than I put in. Regardless, the soup was very tasty, but a bit too spicy for my taste. I will tone that down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was delicious! I soaked the beans overnight but also boiled them before adding them to the slowcooker. I also pureed about half the soup for a somewhat smoother consistency (but still chunky). It was SPICY! We loved it but for company I might tone it down a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
was ok. accidently dropped in too much chili powder, but wasn't exceptionally flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
An amazing and simple soup. Only changes I made was I added some diced onion and pepper and subbed vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Delicious! and easy! I soaked the beans for about 6hrs and had no problem with hard beans. I cooked for like 7hrs on low with maybe the 1st 1/2 hr on high. I added 1/2 red onion, ham, and couple leftover slices of pepperoni. I pureed 1/2 of the soup as others suggested and aded 3tbsp sour cream to the pureed mix before mixing it all back together. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was the best Blackbean disk I have ever had. Just enought kick without destroying the flavor of the bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Harold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I love this recipe because it's very basic. One can customize the recipe to their liking- I took out all the spices. The next time I make it I'll add sausage, onions, carrots- you get the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
For our tastes, this recipe needed a lot of help to become flavorful. I didn't have jalapenos but love spicy so used the hot sauce and cayenne pepper. I used low sodium chicken broth b/c I like to control the amount of sodium. I addeda little onion powder and left beans cooking on high when I left for work. Returning home at lunch the house smelled delicious but the beans were incredibly BLAND.....I added salt, 3 heaping tablespoons of sofrito (bottled tomato based flavoring with green peppers, onions, garlic) and two drained cans of garlic and olive oil petite diced tomatoes. Left cooking on high for another 2 hours then low for an hour to meld flavors....still had the spice but the additions really added flavor which for us was necessary served with rice and grilled chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Brantley Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This soup is fantastic with a bit of a kick...just right for a hearty winter soup. I took half and place in a blender for a thicker consistency, then returned it to the soup. My husband who hates bean soup had 3 bowls of it!!! Corn chips on the side go well with this. Keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I really like this recipe a lot. I only had a can of mild green chiles so I used that instead of the jalapenos, yet it was still pretty spicy. I like spicy food so it was good for me but my husband thought it was too spicy. I used 5 sups of broth as recommended by others b/c I like thicker soup. I also blended some of the soup and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States