Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I thought this was a very good recipe. I served it over brown rice. I ended up decreasing the spice because I was concerned it would be too spicy. However, I found that didn't make it spicy enough. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
The whole family enjoyed this tasty soup. Ours thickened up over night and we used it for burritos the next day! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I am going to try to make this again, but I made it with canned black beans, and it needed more than I put in. Regardless, the soup was very tasty, but a bit too spicy for my taste. I will tone that down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was delicious! I soaked the beans overnight but also boiled them before adding them to the slowcooker. I also pureed about half the soup for a somewhat smoother consistency (but still chunky). It was SPICY! We loved it but for company I might tone it down a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
was ok. accidently dropped in too much chili powder, but wasn't exceptionally flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
An amazing and simple soup. Only changes I made was I added some diced onion and pepper and subbed vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Delicious! and easy! I soaked the beans for about 6hrs and had no problem with hard beans. I cooked for like 7hrs on low with maybe the 1st 1/2 hr on high. I added 1/2 red onion, ham, and couple leftover slices of pepperoni. I pureed 1/2 of the soup as others suggested and aded 3tbsp sour cream to the pureed mix before mixing it all back together. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was the best Blackbean disk I have ever had. Just enought kick without destroying the flavor of the bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Harold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I love this recipe because it's very basic. One can customize the recipe to their liking- I took out all the spices. The next time I make it I'll add sausage, onions, carrots- you get the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
For our tastes, this recipe needed a lot of help to become flavorful. I didn't have jalapenos but love spicy so used the hot sauce and cayenne pepper. I used low sodium chicken broth b/c I like to control the amount of sodium. I addeda little onion powder and left beans cooking on high when I left for work. Returning home at lunch the house smelled delicious but the beans were incredibly BLAND.....I added salt, 3 heaping tablespoons of sofrito (bottled tomato based flavoring with green peppers, onions, garlic) and two drained cans of garlic and olive oil petite diced tomatoes. Left cooking on high for another 2 hours then low for an hour to meld flavors....still had the spice but the additions really added flavor which for us was necessary served with rice and grilled chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States