Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
i made it less spicy by adding only 1 jalepeno and a pinch of cyanne pepper. I alos added 1 tsp garlic salt(ommiting regular garlic) and 1 cup of salsa. I didn't have any chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was a great soup! I added 1 can of tomatoes (because I love tomatoes) and served the soup with cheese quesadillas. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I did change it up with sauteed onion and garlic - blended some of the beans - added brown rice and also threw in some of the turkey I cooked up today that was in my freezer ($5.60 for 15 lbs. :) )since Thanksgiving! I really am enjoying it for quick lunches to take to work! I look at soup recipes as a place to change things up a bit to fit your likes and dislikes. I also didn't use the jalapenos cause that's a bit too hot for me. I will make this again---and probably change it in another way!? Thanks! UPDATE - I make this soup every 2 mos. and freeze in in 1 cup containers - I add a lg. onion sauted - fresh mushrooms - lots of cooked chicken - and shredded carrots - diced tom/gr. chilies..today I'm also going to add a can of blackeyed peas!! Yes - I have changed it a lot - but this is where it all started - I LOVE this soup and I have made it extra healthy!! Again - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
My husband and I thought this recipe was great! We only made a few modifications. First, for those who thought the beans were too bland, there should always be some sort of fat added to dry beans when cooking. It's very important to the texture and flavor. I added four slices of smoked, thick-cut bacon and then fished them out before using my immersion blender to blend up some of the beans just before serving. I also added about a teaspoon of mustard powder, a tablespoon of onion flakes, and a half-teaspoon of paprika. I didn't have any fresh jalepenos, so I used pickled (hot), and they turned out great! It was somewhat spicy, which we enjoy, but I imagine cutting back the cayenne and jalepenos would remedy that. I also added about a half-cup of sour cream when blending (just slightly, for texture and consistency) at the end. Serve with buttermilk cornbread, some shredded jack, and pico de gallo, and it's WAY better than chili! This recipe is a definite keeper at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarianN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I thought this was a very good recipe. I served it over brown rice. I ended up decreasing the spice because I was concerned it would be too spicy. However, I found that didn't make it spicy enough. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
The whole family enjoyed this tasty soup. Ours thickened up over night and we used it for burritos the next day! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I am going to try to make this again, but I made it with canned black beans, and it needed more than I put in. Regardless, the soup was very tasty, but a bit too spicy for my taste. I will tone that down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was delicious! I soaked the beans overnight but also boiled them before adding them to the slowcooker. I also pureed about half the soup for a somewhat smoother consistency (but still chunky). It was SPICY! We loved it but for company I might tone it down a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
was ok. accidently dropped in too much chili powder, but wasn't exceptionally flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
An amazing and simple soup. Only changes I made was I added some diced onion and pepper and subbed vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States