Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
THis recipe is so easy and so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
This was a great tasteing dish, we loved it. The kids thought it was to spicey.I added a pound of kilbasa at the end of the cook time,and it made a great dish evan better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Very good and very easy! No more buying canned black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for black bean soup. I was afraid it would be too spicy, but decided to try it without adjusting the spices. When done, I blended approximately 2 cups of the recipe and returned it to the slow cooker. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I only used the cumin and chili powder and it came out great!!! I also added a ham hock to it. When it was done, diced the meat and put it all over a bed of rice. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Hartman Chapman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I have been looking for a spicy black bean soup recipe for years! They all seem to have ham/ham hock in them and are meatier rather than spicy. This was great! Very spicy and I even left out the hot sauce, figuring that I could add it later (my husband is a baby!). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Great basic black bean soup... add a ham bone to the beans while they are cooking and you will not be sorry! I serve it with pico de gallo and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This recipe was so good, and very good for you! Did not need meat or anything. I like it with a big spoonful of sour cream in each bowl! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I was surprised - it was very, very good. I added smoked ham hocks and I didn't have a jalapeno pepper or chili sauce when I threw it in the crockpot. I planned to buy it early enough to be able to add it, but didn't get around to it. I thought it would turn out bland or lacking, but the cayenne and chili powder really added a lot of great taste. An hour before it was finished, I blended some of the beans and it thickened the soup perfectly. We had leftovers for two days and it was just as delicious. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Incredibly easy and tasty. It wasn't as spicy as I thought it might be, but since tastes differ in our house, we put the tobasco on the table. Served with brown rice it makes the perfect lunch or dinner on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States