Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This recipe was really good! I used canned beans instead of dried, added a little less japlapeno and skipped the hot pepper sauce altogether. My boyfriend, who hates vegetables and isn't the biggest soup guy, LOVES this recipe. I love how simple it is. Definitely blend about a quarter or less of the soup to get a thick, saucy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guilingverity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I wish I could give this 10 stars! I add a can of Ro-Tel and use hand blender to thicken before serving with cilantro and lime wedge. SO GOOD. I wish I had thought to make this yesterday so I could enjoy it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was OK. I thought by soaking the beans overnight would make them softer by the time the cooking (crock pot) was over. NOT! I see why some put this in the blender - which I don't have. I think that would have solved the problem! Decent taste tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because of all the additions I made to make it flavorful. I added some fresh garlic, more chili powder and pepper sauce because we like it spicy, and some bottled salsa (which makes all the difference!). I followed the suggestion of pureeing half of the soup which made the consistency excellent. Serve with a little sour cream on top and it becomes even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was a good base for a slow cooker black bean soup. After several changes, I look forward to making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
We really enjoyed the flavor of this dish! Simple to make, we used canned beans to spead things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bercher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I soaked the beans for 9 hours and then cooked on high in the crock pot for about 3.5 hours. I wish I could rave about it like the others, but I can't. It's missing something. It just doesn't do it for me. I ended up draining the liquid and freezing the beans to use in another recipe and will probably start doing that on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
What can I say? Simply delicious! My husband, who doesn't normally care for black beans, went back for seconds -- I think that says it all! My changes: I added one chopped onion, a few cloves of minced garlic and two roasted/seeded/diced Anaheim chiles to the crockpot. After the beans were tender, I added one 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. After tasting, I ended up adding about 1 tsp more cumin, chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder to give it more oomph. I used an immersion blender to blend about 1/2 of the soup before serving topped with fresh chopped tomato and grated cheddar. This one will be going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious! I added green pepper, onion and a can of diced tomatoes. Cooked 11 hours on low and it was perfect! Next time I will do a cup less broth as it wasn't as thick as we would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was okay. I added some diced red onion and some cilantro to give it a little more flavor. Not the best I've ever had but really easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States