Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
As I cooked this in the slow cooker I wasn't quite sure how I felt about it, but by the end, I pureed (with a hand blender), part of the soup to give it a creamier texture without being all creamed. Served with a lime crema (just mix fresh lime juice with sour cream- yum!) and it's beyond delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a good soup! I used slightly more than a pound of beans, only 4 cups broth and it was still more runny than I'd like. It's spicy, but for me, just the right amount. It is good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Made this in a slow cooker. YUMMY! I used Black beans, Cranberry beans. I rinsed them and boiled them and covered them over night. I sauteed onion, garlic, red pepper flakes, & japs in EVOO and then it all goes in the slow cooker. Top w/Pico De Gallo or chopped onions, sour cream and cilantro! Thank you TOOBUSY2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I cut the spices in half and didn't use the hot sauce and it was still pretty spicy. That's a matter of taste, but I can't imagine what it would have been with all the chili powder and cayenne. It was VERY soupy, even with removing 2-3 cups of the beans at the end and blending them to make it creamy. I didn't love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My beans were a little firm in the crock pot. I should have boiled them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Added a lot of extras to this dish because we had them on hand, but the base was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This might be my favorite soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Perfect and tons of flavor! I made a little pico to go on top and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Sauteed garlic, onion, carrot, celery and mushroomsin a little olive oil. Used canned beans and chicken stock. Put it through food processor. Found it plenty spicy enough without hot pepper sauce. Enjoyed it with ribbons of spinach and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Pretty good but a little watery. Do NOT increase liquid- if anything decrease it a little bit. I also took some out and blended it up to make it a little thicker. Pretty good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States