Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
great recipe. I added the end of a honey ham to the crock pot and cooked all day on low. Husband loved it and he usually doesn't like black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is very good! I cut the black pepper in half and added just a pinch of the cayenne and left the hot pepper sauce altogether, for the sake of the 6 little ones in the house. :) Hubby and I added a generous amount of Tabasco at the table. I made some yellow rice and served it in the bowl with the soup, with freshly cut homegrown tomatoes on top, with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. YUMMY! Will be on my regular menu plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is the best of black bean soups! I doubled the dry spices rather than use the jalapeno and it had just the right amount of kick. I like using dry beans instead of canned beans. This soup is better than the black bean soup you'll find in most restaurants. I have already shared it with all four of my daughters. Great job! (Easy to make a nice vegetarian version, too, simply by using vegetable broth instead of chicken broth.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Not your ordinary Black Bean Soup. I made this for dinner tonight and my husband requested the 5 star review. Changes I made: I added a diced onion, added a 28 oz can of tomatoes, used 2 lbs of dried beans, did not add jalapeno instead I added Tabasco, chipotle hot sauce and doubled all other spices. A great basic recipe that I adjusted to our tastes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Definitely spicy! I removed some of the liquid and then put it through the cuisinart. I like my soup thicker and it was awesome! The 2nd time I made it I reduced the jalapenos and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an excellent recipe you may want to make extra; I'm making it a 2nd time in 2 weeks! The only adjustment I made was to use sweet bell peppers instead of the jalapenos because I was serving it to daycare children. I also cooked it for an extra day in the crock pot on low heat to have a softer bean, and that was only as a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I really did not like this one. It was spicy but had no flavor, strangely. Was it my chicken broth? I don't know.....but I have to find some way to salvage this. I'm going to add corn, peppers, onions, and tomatoes tomorrow to kick up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I thought this was great. I followed the idea of adding Rotel - because how could that be bad. Plus, I didn't have any jalapenos on hand, so figured that would add some spice. I cut back a little on the cayenne and boosted the hot sauce a bit. Then used the immersion blender to give it a little smoothness. Mmmm - can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I've been on the hunt for a good black bean soup recipe for months now. This was the third recipe I've tried, and I'm so happy I found it! I will admit that I messed up the consistency - my bad, not the recipe's fault - but we ended up using the finished product as burrito filler, chicken topping, etc. The flavors were delicious! It had the perfect amount of kick to it to please me and my boyfriend, who loves it spicy. I'm excited to try this again and fix what I did last time to make the perfect soup. A couple things I did differently: I tried one reviewer's method of bringing the dry black beans and chicken stock to a rolling boil, then adding to the crock pot; they were more tender than beans I've had soak overnight! I didn't have any cayenne, so I threw in some hot sauce and Cajun seasoning I had on hand. Other than that, this recipe is excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarlyrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
giving the starts because it sounds like it will be amazing, but haven't actually tried it yet! can't wait to try this. Does anyone know if it can just be done on low for entire day (while at work), rather than high, then low?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States