Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Not your ordinary Black Bean Soup. I made this for dinner tonight and my husband requested the 5 star review. Changes I made: I added a diced onion, added a 28 oz can of tomatoes, used 2 lbs of dried beans, did not add jalapeno instead I added Tabasco, chipotle hot sauce and doubled all other spices. A great basic recipe that I adjusted to our tastes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Definitely spicy! I removed some of the liquid and then put it through the cuisinart. I like my soup thicker and it was awesome! The 2nd time I made it I reduced the jalapenos and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an excellent recipe you may want to make extra; I'm making it a 2nd time in 2 weeks! The only adjustment I made was to use sweet bell peppers instead of the jalapenos because I was serving it to daycare children. I also cooked it for an extra day in the crock pot on low heat to have a softer bean, and that was only as a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I really did not like this one. It was spicy but had no flavor, strangely. Was it my chicken broth? I don't know.....but I have to find some way to salvage this. I'm going to add corn, peppers, onions, and tomatoes tomorrow to kick up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I thought this was great. I followed the idea of adding Rotel - because how could that be bad. Plus, I didn't have any jalapenos on hand, so figured that would add some spice. I cut back a little on the cayenne and boosted the hot sauce a bit. Then used the immersion blender to give it a little smoothness. Mmmm - can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I've been on the hunt for a good black bean soup recipe for months now. This was the third recipe I've tried, and I'm so happy I found it! I will admit that I messed up the consistency - my bad, not the recipe's fault - but we ended up using the finished product as burrito filler, chicken topping, etc. The flavors were delicious! It had the perfect amount of kick to it to please me and my boyfriend, who loves it spicy. I'm excited to try this again and fix what I did last time to make the perfect soup. A couple things I did differently: I tried one reviewer's method of bringing the dry black beans and chicken stock to a rolling boil, then adding to the crock pot; they were more tender than beans I've had soak overnight! I didn't have any cayenne, so I threw in some hot sauce and Cajun seasoning I had on hand. Other than that, this recipe is excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarlyrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
giving the starts because it sounds like it will be amazing, but haven't actually tried it yet! can't wait to try this. Does anyone know if it can just be done on low for entire day (while at work), rather than high, then low?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this recipe last night and it is delicious. I added smoked diced kielbasa sausage. I would cut the cayenne in half. i used fresh serrano chilis instead of jalapeno. I also started with dried black beans that i boiled for 3 mins then started cooking in crockpot. i cooked in crockpot for 6 hours on high then overnight on low. I also pureed about 1 cup of the beans with my hand blender to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
As I cooked this in the slow cooker I wasn't quite sure how I felt about it, but by the end, I pureed (with a hand blender), part of the soup to give it a creamier texture without being all creamed. Served with a lime crema (just mix fresh lime juice with sour cream- yum!) and it's beyond delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a good soup! I used slightly more than a pound of beans, only 4 cups broth and it was still more runny than I'd like. It's spicy, but for me, just the right amount. It is good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States