Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
excellent soup. as others have mentioned, i also added canned tomatoes and chilis, extra jalepeno, peppers, onions. it was very much like a chili, delicios. i also did blend 1/2 of the soup in the blender to make it thicker and i boiled the beans in chicken broth after the soak before adding them to the slow cooker. i ate the soup all week as part of the fat smash diet (since you can have meat) i lost 2 pounds in 5 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaquelynny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was just ok for us. It was easier than other black bean soup recipes that I have made, but the results were not what we were hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Based on several reviews I decided to cut down to 5 cups broth and added 1-1/2 cups sour cream which helped thicken it up, but letting it sit overnight really helped. Threw in 2 diced andouille sausages, 1/2 onion & minced garlic instead of powder. The next morning I scooped out 1/2 the beans and put them in the food processor. Even without the seeds in the jalapenos this was a 4 on a spicy scale of 1-5 (and that's with sour cream added!!) Topped with crumbled Queso Rancherito. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This soup was REALLY yummy! It made quite a lot too, so we had leftovers for days afterwards. I didn't find the recipe too spicy at all, in fact, I wish I'd added spicier chilis (we used green chilis instead of jalapenos). I wanted a bit of texture, so I didn't puree the soup, but I did take a flat spatula and smush about half the beans up. For changes, I didn't make many. Based on the pictures that people have provided, I thought I might want the soup to be a bit creamier, so I added a half a cup of half-and-half. Also, to cut down the sodium content, I only used one can of broth. But really, the soup would have been 100% fine with just water! Overall, delicious and something I will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Halls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Didnt soak beans overnight and still came out good. Also, didnt have any peppers on hand or cayenne and still were great. Easy & simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I LOVED this, but WOW it was spicy. Next time I think I'll serve it over rice and maybe cut the spices in half. But it's definitely a keeper. Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I've never made a black bean soup before but this was delish! I only had 1 can of black beans, and I added a finely chopped onion, 1/2 cup very spicy salsa and a can of tomato sauce. I pureed before serving and added 1/2 cup of light soy milk to cut the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahalley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I didn't have jalapenos so I just used a 4 oz. can of chopped green chiles, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITGREEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is wonderful soup! The spice is just right. I used two good-sized jalapeno peppers and the spices it called for. I put in fresh garlic, some onion and some green pepper and they just added more yumminess. I also blended the soup a little with an immersion blender to give it some thickness. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States