Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We LOVED this recipe, but we did make a few alterations because of our personal preferences. We love how spicy this recipe is and we even added a little bit more hot pepper sauce. We also sauteed and added an onion to the slow cooker and stirred in fresh cilantro before serving. Served with croutons. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southlake, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Soup was decent after being doctored up with onions, green peppers and tomatoes..plus extra spices...but still a little bland. Can't imagine that it would have any flavor without those additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Loved it!!! Just the right level of spicy for my family. Served it with Southwestern Egg Rolls from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oelwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was fantastic! I have never made beans or black bean soup before so I followed recipe exactly. We ate this with white rice, sour cream, shredded cheese and homemade and homemade corn tortilla (we used tortillas instead of untensils). It was delicious! I can see how others will change it up as a great base soup, but I found it fantastic as is. My husband loved it. It is spicey and not for those who don't enjoy a little kick. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitie & Jeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
so good. nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Wow my family loved this soup! I made it exactly as described (we don't mind a bit of heat). I can see topping this off with onions, cilantro, salsa, a bit of cheese, and/or tortilla strips and I think it might even be better. I had some left over and so I stored it overnight. What I noticed was that the beans soaked up more of the soup so it was not as soupy the second day but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great spicy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Really tasty, good basic recipe that can be adjusted any number of ways. I added a half pound of chopped smoked ham, a heaping tablespoon of minced onion, and a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. I also used two whole jalapenos chopped finely rather than 2 teaspoons. If you don't blend or mash the beans, you can remove them with a slotted spoon, and serve them as, well...beans. (The blended, thickened version is good too.) As I'm typing this review, I'm making this recipe for the third time--this has become a regular meal at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
We were so impressed with this recipe! I had 2 cups of beef broth left over from another recipe so I used that plus 4 cups (one box) chicken broth and this was delicious. I also put some in the blender to thicken it up a little. I left the hot sauce out and added like a garnish. This is a spicy recipe and so full of flavor. We topped it with cheddar cheese, sour cream and fresh cilantro. Thank you for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States