Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very easy, very delicious. Like everyone else, I made additions (onions, green and red peppers). This base recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
pretty good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I threw in a can of rotel, diced red onion, diced green pepper. I think you definitely have to blend half of the soup at the end or it's texture just isn't right. Also - I soaked the beans overnight, but I think a bit of boiling would have been better - like people said. I will make again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
i wasn't trying to make a soup out of this but wanted some direction to cook black beans from scratch as my first attempt was a fail.. glad i read wannabechef7's review.. i made sure to bring the beans to a boil (after 6 hours of soaking) and then after 4 hours of being on high in the crock pot it was nearly done.. turned it down to low for about an hour and it was completely done.. i omitted the jalapeno, cayenne, and hot pepper sauce because i wanted more generic black beans.. used beef broth in place of chicken.. this was awesome.. ty so much for the recipe and new found confidence in making black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! I simmered the beans for 10 minutes and allowed them to soak overnight. The texture was perfect. Based on other reviewers, and knowing I don't like super spicy foods, I only put in 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, and I served it with a dollop of sour cream. Otherwise I stayed true to the recipe. Excellent! The leftovers are fantastic for lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
As I am a vegetarian, I substituted the chicken broth for vegetable. Was a little bland, next time will add onions, green peppers and tomatoes. And if you use dry beans, either boil them on the stove top or add lots more time than 6 hours to your crock pot time. Dry beans will not get quite as tender in the pot in 6 hours even if you soak them overnight. All in all, good soup though. Will for sure make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
It was Ok - I soaked black beans overnight, placed in the slow cooker with the rest of the ingredients and decreased the chili powder to 1/2 tablespoon. I also pureed some of the beans during the last 30 minutes of cooking to make it thick. Served over rice, with shredded cheese, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scubies Dad
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Once again, a good base for an amazing soup! Make it your own. I added quite a few flavors. I placed a whole diced onion, 3 carrots,4 slices of bacon and I was very generous on the Cumin, Cayenne, and pepper. To really smooth it out, I brought in my hand blender after 4 hours to make it much more creamy. I also cheated and added some cream cheese, half a package. Dress it with some Cilantro and a great Zinfandel and WOW...a great soup. Don't forget, season to you and your families tastes. We like it spicy at my house! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubies Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is so good! I am a guy who cannot boil water, but I made this in less than 10 minutes and is my favorite soup. I used real jalapenos and reduced sodium chicken broth. I think a little ground pork or beef would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this for a church potluck, so I omitted the jalapeños and hot sauce, added a can of Rotel Mild. It was still very spicy while maintaining a great savory flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APACHEAV8RIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States