Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Didn't change a thing. It was a little spicy for my teens, but adding a little sour cream and cheese took away some of the bite of the jalapeno. Served it with a sourdough French baguette (kind of like at Panera Bread). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was so delicious! I loved it. And so easy to make. I made exactly as the recipe stated, ate it the first night as is and the 2nd day I blended it in my food processor. It is good both ways!! Wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Didn't have any cayenne pepper or jalapenos so I sauteed an onion and added a tiny can of tomato paste for flavor. Came out great!! Instead of soaking the dry beans overnight, bring beans & water to a rolling boil. Boil for 2 minutes. Cover, remove from heat & let sit an hour. Rinse & drain and then begin the soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Sooo delicious!! I'm very picky because I want things spicy, so I added extra cayenne, jalapeno, and rotel with green chiles. I definitely agree with boiling the beans before putting in the crock pot. I hate cooking and this was so simple and delicious!!! My hubbie even liked it and he hates when I make soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This soup was so good! I made it for dinner for my meat and potatoes loving boyfriend and even he ate a second bowl. I must admit, I made several alterations though since I didn’t have the night before to prepare and had some substitutes in my pantry. I used 4 cans of black beans instead of dry and a can of chunky rotel instead of the diced jalapeno. I’m veggie, so I opted for 4 cups (the whole container) of vegetable broth instead of chicken. I left the hot pepper sauce out and added 2 handfuls of chopped fresh cilantro. I took others suggestions and about an hour before serving I blending half the soup and then returned it and also served the final bowl with a dollop of Greek yogurt, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I have made this several times, although I have gradually changed more and more. First, it has far too much chicken broth for my taste. 2-4 cups is plenty. I did not like it with only the jalapenos, but it is great with a can of tomatoes with jalapenos. I also add in an onion and extra garlic powder. With these changes it has become a staple in my house. I usually make it once every couple months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Schooley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We LOVED this recipe, but we did make a few alterations because of our personal preferences. We love how spicy this recipe is and we even added a little bit more hot pepper sauce. We also sauteed and added an onion to the slow cooker and stirred in fresh cilantro before serving. Served with croutons. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southlake, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Soup was decent after being doctored up with onions, green peppers and tomatoes..plus extra spices...but still a little bland. Can't imagine that it would have any flavor without those additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Loved it!!! Just the right level of spicy for my family. Served it with Southwestern Egg Rolls from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oelwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States