Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this soup for a girls night and it was a huge hit! I added the dice tomatoes with green chilies as suggested and mushed up some of the beans to make this thicker. I also added some red pepper flakes, diced red onion, fresh cilantro, and a can of corn. We toped it off with diced tomatoes, cheese, sour cream and a little more cilantro! sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I joined the site just to rate this recipie. It was amazing and with the help of other reviwes it came out perfect. I did make some changes and do to a lack of time cooked it on the stove for 2 hours. We also like flavor so we doubled the spices. This is what i did. 4 cans black beans with juice 2 jalapenos with seeds, diced 4 cups chicken broth 1 green pepper diced 1 onion diced 1 can rotel diced tomatoes with hot green chilies (14.5oz) 5 cloves garlic minced 2T chili powder 2t cumin ½ T black pepper 4-6 T worcestershire sauce Some salt ½ t hot sauce to taste or 1 t cayenne pepper Cilantro Juice of 1 large lime Combine everything but cilantro, lime,and hot sauce in pot, bring to boil, reduce heat, let simmer 2 hours, add in cilantro and lime at end, finish with hot sauce to taste, serve with sour cream and garnish of cilantro and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very flavorful! This soup is delicious and good on a cold day! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good. I omitted the cayenne since I don't have any at the moment. I did not presoak or preboil the beans (I never do for the slow cooker), and they were just fine after five hours on high in the crockpot. I let the soup cool a bit and pureed about a third of it, then added it back to the rest of it. Served with sour cream on top to help mellow the spicy. All in all, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Solid! It was easy, tasty, hearty, healthy, and had just the right amount of kick! I added a can of diced tomatoes and a chopped onion. I didn't add jalepeno peppers. I boiled the beans for 45-60 min. instead of soaking them overnight. The recipe offers a great base recipe from which you can play around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Didn't change a thing. It was a little spicy for my teens, but adding a little sour cream and cheese took away some of the bite of the jalapeno. Served it with a sourdough French baguette (kind of like at Panera Bread). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was so delicious! I loved it. And so easy to make. I made exactly as the recipe stated, ate it the first night as is and the 2nd day I blended it in my food processor. It is good both ways!! Wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Didn't have any cayenne pepper or jalapenos so I sauteed an onion and added a tiny can of tomato paste for flavor. Came out great!! Instead of soaking the dry beans overnight, bring beans & water to a rolling boil. Boil for 2 minutes. Cover, remove from heat & let sit an hour. Rinse & drain and then begin the soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Sooo delicious!! I'm very picky because I want things spicy, so I added extra cayenne, jalapeno, and rotel with green chiles. I definitely agree with boiling the beans before putting in the crock pot. I hate cooking and this was so simple and delicious!!! My hubbie even liked it and he hates when I make soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This soup was so good! I made it for dinner for my meat and potatoes loving boyfriend and even he ate a second bowl. I must admit, I made several alterations though since I didn’t have the night before to prepare and had some substitutes in my pantry. I used 4 cans of black beans instead of dry and a can of chunky rotel instead of the diced jalapeno. I’m veggie, so I opted for 4 cups (the whole container) of vegetable broth instead of chicken. I left the hot pepper sauce out and added 2 handfuls of chopped fresh cilantro. I took others suggestions and about an hour before serving I blending half the soup and then returned it and also served the final bowl with a dollop of Greek yogurt, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States