Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This might be my favorite soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Perfect and tons of flavor! I made a little pico to go on top and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Sauteed garlic, onion, carrot, celery and mushroomsin a little olive oil. Used canned beans and chicken stock. Put it through food processor. Found it plenty spicy enough without hot pepper sauce. Enjoyed it with ribbons of spinach and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Pretty good but a little watery. Do NOT increase liquid- if anything decrease it a little bit. I also took some out and blended it up to make it a little thicker. Pretty good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very simple, easy recipe with tons of flavor. I made some additions based on other reviews. I added a can of Rotel, 1/4 c chopped cilantro, a quarter of an onion (chopped), and the juice of a small lime. I brought the beans to a boil on the stovetop for about 5 minutes before starting them in the crockpot. Before serving the soup, I put 3 cups of the soup in the blender and blended it well, then put it back in the soup. That really made into a soup and not just beans, for me. The only thing is that the soup was a little thin for me. My husband didn't mind at all though, he ate almost the whole pot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Soup came out delicious! I only threw in one jalepeno but next time I'll definitely use 2. A nice twist to the traditional soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Simple and easy to make with ingredients I already had in the pantry. The cumin added a nice zesty twist that livened up the bland taste that black means usually have and it also heightened the chili powder taste. I used less chicken broth and cooked in the crock pot and served on rice instead of like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Didn't really like it much. Too plain and a bit too spicy. Don't plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a very great tasting soup recipe, my husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Elkton, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very good. I used Bob's Red Mill Black Bean Soup Mix and kept the seasonings the same. When it was done, I added one can of drained diced tomatoes. It was quite thick, so I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States