Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This might be my favorite soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Perfect and tons of flavor! I made a little pico to go on top and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Sauteed garlic, onion, carrot, celery and mushroomsin a little olive oil. Used canned beans and chicken stock. Put it through food processor. Found it plenty spicy enough without hot pepper sauce. Enjoyed it with ribbons of spinach and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Pretty good but a little watery. Do NOT increase liquid- if anything decrease it a little bit. I also took some out and blended it up to make it a little thicker. Pretty good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very simple, easy recipe with tons of flavor. I made some additions based on other reviews. I added a can of Rotel, 1/4 c chopped cilantro, a quarter of an onion (chopped), and the juice of a small lime. I brought the beans to a boil on the stovetop for about 5 minutes before starting them in the crockpot. Before serving the soup, I put 3 cups of the soup in the blender and blended it well, then put it back in the soup. That really made into a soup and not just beans, for me. The only thing is that the soup was a little thin for me. My husband didn't mind at all though, he ate almost the whole pot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Soup came out delicious! I only threw in one jalepeno but next time I'll definitely use 2. A nice twist to the traditional soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Simple and easy to make with ingredients I already had in the pantry. The cumin added a nice zesty twist that livened up the bland taste that black means usually have and it also heightened the chili powder taste. I used less chicken broth and cooked in the crock pot and served on rice instead of like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Didn't really like it much. Too plain and a bit too spicy. Don't plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a very great tasting soup recipe, my husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Elkton, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very good. I used Bob's Red Mill Black Bean Soup Mix and kept the seasonings the same. When it was done, I added one can of drained diced tomatoes. It was quite thick, so I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States