Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I thought this was great. I followed the idea of adding Rotel - because how could that be bad. Plus, I didn't have any jalapenos on hand, so figured that would add some spice. I cut back a little on the cayenne and boosted the hot sauce a bit. Then used the immersion blender to give it a little smoothness. Mmmm - can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I've been on the hunt for a good black bean soup recipe for months now. This was the third recipe I've tried, and I'm so happy I found it! I will admit that I messed up the consistency - my bad, not the recipe's fault - but we ended up using the finished product as burrito filler, chicken topping, etc. The flavors were delicious! It had the perfect amount of kick to it to please me and my boyfriend, who loves it spicy. I'm excited to try this again and fix what I did last time to make the perfect soup. A couple things I did differently: I tried one reviewer's method of bringing the dry black beans and chicken stock to a rolling boil, then adding to the crock pot; they were more tender than beans I've had soak overnight! I didn't have any cayenne, so I threw in some hot sauce and Cajun seasoning I had on hand. Other than that, this recipe is excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarlyrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
giving the starts because it sounds like it will be amazing, but haven't actually tried it yet! can't wait to try this. Does anyone know if it can just be done on low for entire day (while at work), rather than high, then low?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this recipe last night and it is delicious. I added smoked diced kielbasa sausage. I would cut the cayenne in half. i used fresh serrano chilis instead of jalapeno. I also started with dried black beans that i boiled for 3 mins then started cooking in crockpot. i cooked in crockpot for 6 hours on high then overnight on low. I also pureed about 1 cup of the beans with my hand blender to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
As I cooked this in the slow cooker I wasn't quite sure how I felt about it, but by the end, I pureed (with a hand blender), part of the soup to give it a creamier texture without being all creamed. Served with a lime crema (just mix fresh lime juice with sour cream- yum!) and it's beyond delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a good soup! I used slightly more than a pound of beans, only 4 cups broth and it was still more runny than I'd like. It's spicy, but for me, just the right amount. It is good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Made this in a slow cooker. YUMMY! I used Black beans, Cranberry beans. I rinsed them and boiled them and covered them over night. I sauteed onion, garlic, red pepper flakes, & japs in EVOO and then it all goes in the slow cooker. Top w/Pico De Gallo or chopped onions, sour cream and cilantro! Thank you TOOBUSY2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I cut the spices in half and didn't use the hot sauce and it was still pretty spicy. That's a matter of taste, but I can't imagine what it would have been with all the chili powder and cayenne. It was VERY soupy, even with removing 2-3 cups of the beans at the end and blending them to make it creamy. I didn't love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My beans were a little firm in the crock pot. I should have boiled them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Added a lot of extras to this dish because we had them on hand, but the base was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States