Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I've never made a black bean soup before but this was delish! I only had 1 can of black beans, and I added a finely chopped onion, 1/2 cup very spicy salsa and a can of tomato sauce. I pureed before serving and added 1/2 cup of light soy milk to cut the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahalley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I didn't have jalapenos so I just used a 4 oz. can of chopped green chiles, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITGREEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is wonderful soup! The spice is just right. I used two good-sized jalapeno peppers and the spices it called for. I put in fresh garlic, some onion and some green pepper and they just added more yumminess. I also blended the soup a little with an immersion blender to give it some thickness. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetgrr
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I cooked the beejezus out of this soup (probably 18 hours in a slowcooker after beans soaking for 12) to get it nice and thick, but oh man it was worth it. Also, pureed half in a blender about 12 hours in. My parents found it too spicy- i blame the jalapeno juices. Boyfriend and I inhaled it. What a simple, spicy delight. Will definitely make again, despite long cook time. It just sits in a crockpot while I go about my day and eventually I have awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Wow is this ever spicy! Too much for me I like foods that are spicy. I cut some of the jalapeno too. I will make my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I love this recipe. I double the beans to make it thicker. I cut the jalapeno by half. Still gives enough spice. After it cooks, I will take about half and swirl in the blender to help thicken. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I loved it. but too spicy for Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This has become a regular; I probably make it every two or three weeks. I was surprised at how rich and flavorful this soup is! I've started adding fresh green pepper and onion, and usually try to use organic black beans as they are only slightly more in cost but taste amazing in this soup. I also like to add chunks of smoked ham and through in sour cream at the end to make it more creamy. Also, to make it less soupy I usually use only 4 or 5 cups of chicken broth, 6 tends to make it too watery. The best part of this dish is that I can throw it in the crock pot in the morning and eat it 12 hours later. It's one of those few dishes that the longer you cook, the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I'm going to give this 5 stars, as I think it's a great base recipe. I thought the spice level was perfect, it had that kind of heat I look for in a comfort soup, something perfect on a cold day, etc. I chose the option of blending parts of my soup, also added cornstarch to make it creamier. I added a can of diced tomatoes. It's a good base everyone can take and then add the things they like. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States