Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
For our tastes, this recipe needed a lot of help to become flavorful. I didn't have jalapenos but love spicy so used the hot sauce and cayenne pepper. I used low sodium chicken broth b/c I like to control the amount of sodium. I addeda little onion powder and left beans cooking on high when I left for work. Returning home at lunch the house smelled delicious but the beans were incredibly BLAND.....I added salt, 3 heaping tablespoons of sofrito (bottled tomato based flavoring with green peppers, onions, garlic) and two drained cans of garlic and olive oil petite diced tomatoes. Left cooking on high for another 2 hours then low for an hour to meld flavors....still had the spice but the additions really added flavor which for us was necessary served with rice and grilled chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Brantley Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This soup is fantastic with a bit of a kick...just right for a hearty winter soup. I took half and place in a blender for a thicker consistency, then returned it to the soup. My husband who hates bean soup had 3 bowls of it!!! Corn chips on the side go well with this. Keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I really like this recipe a lot. I only had a can of mild green chiles so I used that instead of the jalapenos, yet it was still pretty spicy. I like spicy food so it was good for me but my husband thought it was too spicy. I used 5 sups of broth as recommended by others b/c I like thicker soup. I also blended some of the soup and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We loved the taste of this soup, but did agree that it was a little spicy. Next time, we will reduce the jalapenos by half and serve the rest on the side, along with reduced fat shredded cheese and reduced fat sour cream. We eliminated the garlic powder and used 1 1/2 t of garlic salt, instead. About halfway through, we used a potato masher to smush up some of the beans. 2 hours of simmering later, the consistency was perfect! Nice and creamy, and no blender used. Also, we made this on the stovetop, not the slow cooker. Total cooking time was about 3 hours. We'll make it again. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
excellent soup. as others have mentioned, i also added canned tomatoes and chilis, extra jalepeno, peppers, onions. it was very much like a chili, delicios. i also did blend 1/2 of the soup in the blender to make it thicker and i boiled the beans in chicken broth after the soak before adding them to the slow cooker. i ate the soup all week as part of the fat smash diet (since you can have meat) i lost 2 pounds in 5 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaquelynny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was just ok for us. It was easier than other black bean soup recipes that I have made, but the results were not what we were hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Based on several reviews I decided to cut down to 5 cups broth and added 1-1/2 cups sour cream which helped thicken it up, but letting it sit overnight really helped. Threw in 2 diced andouille sausages, 1/2 onion & minced garlic instead of powder. The next morning I scooped out 1/2 the beans and put them in the food processor. Even without the seeds in the jalapenos this was a 4 on a spicy scale of 1-5 (and that's with sour cream added!!) Topped with crumbled Queso Rancherito. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This soup was REALLY yummy! It made quite a lot too, so we had leftovers for days afterwards. I didn't find the recipe too spicy at all, in fact, I wish I'd added spicier chilis (we used green chilis instead of jalapenos). I wanted a bit of texture, so I didn't puree the soup, but I did take a flat spatula and smush about half the beans up. For changes, I didn't make many. Based on the pictures that people have provided, I thought I might want the soup to be a bit creamier, so I added a half a cup of half-and-half. Also, to cut down the sodium content, I only used one can of broth. But really, the soup would have been 100% fine with just water! Overall, delicious and something I will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Halls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Didnt soak beans overnight and still came out good. Also, didnt have any peppers on hand or cayenne and still were great. Easy & simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I LOVED this, but WOW it was spicy. Next time I think I'll serve it over rice and maybe cut the spices in half. But it's definitely a keeper. Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States