Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very good! I also recommend the can of diced tomatoes and pureeing half of the beans to make it thicker. Added some chicken which I think was a good idea. I may decrease the broth a little (5 cups) next time to make it a tad thicker. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Super spicy & good. I soaked my beans over night and then rinsed and brought them to a boil. then transferred them to a crockpot with the chicken broth and spices etc... I used jarred sliced jalapenos and not four teaspoons - and I didn't measure the hot sauce...just several shakes! Wowser! I did use my smart stick to puree most of it. I also threw in a can of tomatoes with diced chilis at the last second. I served with chopped onion & shredded cheese as toppers. Excellent. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Excellent! I added coursely chopped celery, tomatoes, & carrots, and sauteed finely chopped onion & garlic. The carrots were especially delicious! Really great - I was expecting to be disappointed, to be honest. I omitted the cayenne pepper since I didn't have any on hand, and I think it was just hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I will no longer doubt a recipe when "spicy" is in the title. I thought this would have a little kick to it, but it had a big kick. I even left out the hot pepper sauce and it was still way too spicy. I finished my bowl, but my husband could not. :) Next time I make this I will use less jalapenos and less cayenne pepper. I pureed half of the batch in the blender and then mixed it back in. Really great consistency. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
4 out of 5. A good, basic recipe. It is spicy hot, as a warning to those who don't care for that, but we love it in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palouse, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good starter recipe. Our family really enjoyed it. I think this is a great recipe to add to to really make this soup your own. Personally, I added a bit of chopped ham, finely diced onion, carrot, celery and a can of fire roasted tomatoes. After the beans were tender I put about half of the mixture into the food processor with a half a block of cream cheese and then added it back to the remaining soup/beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent! Everyone went back for seconds (a few had thirds). I noticed some reviewers didn't soak their beans, but I soaked mine overnight. I used fresh garlic in place of garlic powder and added diced onion. Before serving, I pureed some of the beans with a little bit of the liquid then added it all back to the soup to thicken it. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I wasn't a huge fan, but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I really loved this soup, but made quite a few changes (mostly to use up some leftovers). I used some extra bouillon to make the chicken broth stronger than normal. I also added four frozen boneless skinless chicken thighs. I added a medium chopped onion, 6 small diced tomatoes, and used a heaping tsp of fresh minced garlic instead of the powder. I decreased the amount of jalapeno and cayenne for picky guests, and omitted the hot pepper sauce, but I used about 2 heaping table spoons of chili powder, and 3 tbs of cumin. I cooked it on low for 16 hours, and then served with sour cream. My guests LOVED it. I think this will be a go-to meal in the future when I need to use up leftover chicken or veggies. It's a great canvas for experimenting, and you can't beat the price of dried black beans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
One of my favorite soups by far! So yummy with a dollop of sour cream on top. I just toss it all in the slow cooker and let it go. Quick, Easy, and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kissy_liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States