Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I really loved this soup, but made quite a few changes (mostly to use up some leftovers). I used some extra bouillon to make the chicken broth stronger than normal. I also added four frozen boneless skinless chicken thighs. I added a medium chopped onion, 6 small diced tomatoes, and used a heaping tsp of fresh minced garlic instead of the powder. I decreased the amount of jalapeno and cayenne for picky guests, and omitted the hot pepper sauce, but I used about 2 heaping table spoons of chili powder, and 3 tbs of cumin. I cooked it on low for 16 hours, and then served with sour cream. My guests LOVED it. I think this will be a go-to meal in the future when I need to use up leftover chicken or veggies. It's a great canvas for experimenting, and you can't beat the price of dried black beans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
One of my favorite soups by far! So yummy with a dollop of sour cream on top. I just toss it all in the slow cooker and let it go. Quick, Easy, and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kissy_liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Delicious! We used less of the spices because our 2 year old was eating it. Add quacamole and sour cream into the soup at serving at it is a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was OK...I felt like it needed something else though then just spice and beans...maybe diced tomatoes or something? If I try it again, I may add tomato and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfraggle37

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This is good, I dont know if I think of it as soup though, I'm eating over rice and its delicious. I did 2 tsps granulated garlic - I love garlic! 1 jalapeno with some of the seeds/membranes, about 1/2 tsp cayenne and no black pepper - the rest of the spices I kept the same. I also added some chopped green pepper. I love these kinds of meals as you can change it up and serve it different ways, and beans freeze well. It does smell more flavorful than it actually is, but its easy to add stuff to get the taste you want. I love that its inexpensive and can be done in the crockpot or on the stove. OH - mine is not too spicy - but it all depends on the heat of your peppers and types of chili powders/hot sauce. I used the tabasco chipotle sauce - you can always leave out the cayenne and hot sauce and add to taste when the beans are done. OK - I had to come back and change my rating to 5 stars...I've still got my beans cooking and added a bit of flour as I want it to thicken up a bit, but the flavor has just gotten better and I keep eating bites out of the crockpot - I'm going to keep cooking longer to let it thicken, but this is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is EXCELLENT! I lived in Brazil for 5 years and this is as good as any I had in all levels of restaurants in Rio. Warning: Jalapenos, Chili Powder, Cayenne Pepper, AND Hot Pepper Sauce? I am Latino and enjoy Jalapenos with just tortilla chips... But this? I advise you cut something as I cut out the Jalapenos, although you may like it as written. Still, a delightful side dish. And, if you like this, you will love eating Fejoada, the national dish of Brazil. Simply put, it is this recipe plus a couple of ingredients. The recipe is on this site. Enjoy! Back to my bowl of Black Beans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Really good. Added a can of mild Rotel. Skipped the jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
i made it less spicy by adding only 1 jalepeno and a pinch of cyanne pepper. I alos added 1 tsp garlic salt(ommiting regular garlic) and 1 cup of salsa. I didn't have any chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was a great soup! I added 1 can of tomatoes (because I love tomatoes) and served the soup with cheese quesadillas. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I did change it up with sauteed onion and garlic - blended some of the beans - added brown rice and also threw in some of the turkey I cooked up today that was in my freezer ($5.60 for 15 lbs. :) )since Thanksgiving! I really am enjoying it for quick lunches to take to work! I look at soup recipes as a place to change things up a bit to fit your likes and dislikes. I also didn't use the jalapenos cause that's a bit too hot for me. I will make this again---and probably change it in another way!? Thanks! UPDATE - I make this soup every 2 mos. and freeze in in 1 cup containers - I add a lg. onion sauted - fresh mushrooms - lots of cooked chicken - and shredded carrots - diced tom/gr. chilies..today I'm also going to add a can of blackeyed peas!! Yes - I have changed it a lot - but this is where it all started - I LOVE this soup and I have made it extra healthy!! Again - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States