Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was fantastic! I have never made beans or black bean soup before so I followed recipe exactly. We ate this with white rice, sour cream, shredded cheese and homemade and homemade corn tortilla (we used tortillas instead of untensils). It was delicious! I can see how others will change it up as a great base soup, but I found it fantastic as is. My husband loved it. It is spicey and not for those who don't enjoy a little kick. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitie & Jeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
so good. nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Wow my family loved this soup! I made it exactly as described (we don't mind a bit of heat). I can see topping this off with onions, cilantro, salsa, a bit of cheese, and/or tortilla strips and I think it might even be better. I had some left over and so I stored it overnight. What I noticed was that the beans soaked up more of the soup so it was not as soupy the second day but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great spicy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Really tasty, good basic recipe that can be adjusted any number of ways. I added a half pound of chopped smoked ham, a heaping tablespoon of minced onion, and a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. I also used two whole jalapenos chopped finely rather than 2 teaspoons. If you don't blend or mash the beans, you can remove them with a slotted spoon, and serve them as, well...beans. (The blended, thickened version is good too.) As I'm typing this review, I'm making this recipe for the third time--this has become a regular meal at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
We were so impressed with this recipe! I had 2 cups of beef broth left over from another recipe so I used that plus 4 cups (one box) chicken broth and this was delicious. I also put some in the blender to thicken it up a little. I left the hot sauce out and added like a garnish. This is a spicy recipe and so full of flavor. We topped it with cheddar cheese, sour cream and fresh cilantro. Thank you for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very good! I also recommend the can of diced tomatoes and pureeing half of the beans to make it thicker. Added some chicken which I think was a good idea. I may decrease the broth a little (5 cups) next time to make it a tad thicker. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Super spicy & good. I soaked my beans over night and then rinsed and brought them to a boil. then transferred them to a crockpot with the chicken broth and spices etc... I used jarred sliced jalapenos and not four teaspoons - and I didn't measure the hot sauce...just several shakes! Wowser! I did use my smart stick to puree most of it. I also threw in a can of tomatoes with diced chilis at the last second. I served with chopped onion & shredded cheese as toppers. Excellent. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Excellent! I added coursely chopped celery, tomatoes, & carrots, and sauteed finely chopped onion & garlic. The carrots were especially delicious! Really great - I was expecting to be disappointed, to be honest. I omitted the cayenne pepper since I didn't have any on hand, and I think it was just hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I will no longer doubt a recipe when "spicy" is in the title. I thought this would have a little kick to it, but it had a big kick. I even left out the hot pepper sauce and it was still way too spicy. I finished my bowl, but my husband could not. :) Next time I make this I will use less jalapenos and less cayenne pepper. I pureed half of the batch in the blender and then mixed it back in. Really great consistency. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States