Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I ended up with a watery, lackluster soup with chewy beans. Six cups of chicken broth is WAY too much. When I served the soup it was nicely spicy but lacked any depth or complexity at all. To remedy this I added raw chopped onion, shredded cheese, and a healthy dollop of greek yogurt to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
The overall outcome for this soup was great.I doubled up on spices except for cayenne and hot sauce, added chopped onions, red/green peppers, fat free cheddar cheese and cilantro. I omitted the jalapeños, I'm not crazy about super spicy food. For a creamier texture, after the soup was done I scooped half of soup with measuring cup, putting it in the blender for a couple of seconds which made texture perfect. The soup was delicious has a little kick of spice and kid friendly, my 6yo loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Great recipe, I added chopped tomatoes, chopped onion, chopped poblano pepper, and 2 boneless pork chops for flavor. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
For me, this is the perfect amount of spicy. I mashed up the beans a little bit with a potato masher. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Sebring
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe. I soaked the beans the night before and put everything into a crockpot. The beans were perfect. I had black beans on a small flour tortilla, fresh sliced avocado and a dash of sour cream. A simple meal but delicious. The recipe makes meals versatile and time saving with the crockpot. Will make it many times to come. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Absolutely fantastic - worried a bit about the amount of heat in the spices, but it turned out to be sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I make some changes based on our tastes. We add the can of rotel, pork chops, and onions based on other reviews, and we substitute chipotle powder for cayenne pepper. We leave out the jalapenos so that the children will be able to eat it better. Otherwise we make it as-is. Definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very easy, very delicious. Like everyone else, I made additions (onions, green and red peppers). This base recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
pretty good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I threw in a can of rotel, diced red onion, diced green pepper. I think you definitely have to blend half of the soup at the end or it's texture just isn't right. Also - I soaked the beans overnight, but I think a bit of boiling would have been better - like people said. I will make again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States