Spicy Shrimp and Tomato Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ALLRYTIE
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe, and it was really quite simple to make! It wasn't a WOW in the flavor department, but it was fresh, simple and tasty. We also loved the spicy zip of the red pepper flakes (we LOVE spicy food). I followed the recipe to the letter (all except I used regular diced tomatoes instead of those with green chiles, and I used 3/4 of a lb of shrimp instead of a full pound because it was really expensive at my local seafood store). The fresh parsley is a great touch and the leftovers are almost as good as the first go-round. I will add this to my recipe box and make it again. Although next time, I might add another 1/2 cup of diced tomatoes, and will try the ones with the green chiles as suggested. Thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLRYTIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I didn't want to spend a lot of money for shrimp, so I used chicken instead. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was very tasty. I didn't have penne, so I used whole wheat pasta and it was delicious. A little spicy for the kids, but very tasty. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
As written, this recipe is very tasty and gets 4-1/2 stars in my book! The only thing that I wasn't that happy about was that the sauce seemed kind of watery - but it was still good. The second time I made this, I added 1/4 cup heavy cream and fresh mushrooms - this bumped it up that 1/2 star to make it 5 stars! This will definately be a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMtz19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Pretty good recipe, not amazing. I used a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes which may have added an odd flavor. I also added sliced black olives and used whole grain pasta. Cheese on top is a must :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthvilleLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Excellent. A perfect weeknight meal when you are low on groceries. I had some fresh basil so added that in addition to the parsley. I also used half butter and olive oil because I like the flavor of the two together. If you like this try the Pasta with Tuna Sauce recipe also on this site. Both are quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Worked well, and didn't take long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich Weddle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I loved this recipe! The only thing I didn't like was how thin the sauce was so i drained the juices off and added a little traditional pasta sauce. It was perfect besides that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was an amazing recipe....I followed it exactly, except I did add some cream cheese in at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I love this recipe. My husband also really likes it. My son and parents thought this was too spicy. I guess it could be spicy to those who do not like spicy food, but I love spicy food and thought it was delicious, especially topped with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States