Spicy Shrimp and Tomato Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
As written, this recipe is very tasty and gets 4-1/2 stars in my book! The only thing that I wasn't that happy about was that the sauce seemed kind of watery - but it was still good. The second time I made this, I added 1/4 cup heavy cream and fresh mushrooms - this bumped it up that 1/2 star to make it 5 stars! This will definately be a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMtz19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by ALLRYTIE
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe, and it was really quite simple to make! It wasn't a WOW in the flavor department, but it was fresh, simple and tasty. We also loved the spicy zip of the red pepper flakes (we LOVE spicy food). I followed the recipe to the letter (all except I used regular diced tomatoes instead of those with green chiles, and I used 3/4 of a lb of shrimp instead of a full pound because it was really expensive at my local seafood store). The fresh parsley is a great touch and the leftovers are almost as good as the first go-round. I will add this to my recipe box and make it again. Although next time, I might add another 1/2 cup of diced tomatoes, and will try the ones with the green chiles as suggested. Thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLRYTIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I didn't want to spend a lot of money for shrimp, so I used chicken instead. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Excellent. A perfect weeknight meal when you are low on groceries. I had some fresh basil so added that in addition to the parsley. I also used half butter and olive oil because I like the flavor of the two together. If you like this try the Pasta with Tuna Sauce recipe also on this site. Both are quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was very tasty. I didn't have penne, so I used whole wheat pasta and it was delicious. A little spicy for the kids, but very tasty. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I thought this was delicious, however this does not feed 4. Feeding 4 would mean each person would only get a cup of penne pasta. I used 12 oz of pasta and doubled the ingredients, then added black olives and mushrooms. I kept everything else the same! It as super good! Thank you for sharing Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was an amazing recipe....I followed it exactly, except I did add some cream cheese in at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I loved this recipe! The only thing I didn't like was how thin the sauce was so i drained the juices off and added a little traditional pasta sauce. It was perfect besides that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I used fresh tomatoes chopped up. Love this! So delicious and yes it does yield a thin sauce, but that was okay with us, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mookie715
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I really LOVED this recipe! I didn't follow the recipe to a "T" b/c i read the reviews so i made it my own. I add tomato sauce just to make the sauce a little thicker. I will do this AGAIN for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mookie715

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States