Spicy Shrimp and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delicious spicy dish! I left out the celery (I didn't have any on hand) and the water. Served it over rice. I also added sliced turkey sausage links and more spices (cayenne & red pepper). Tasted like something you'd find served in a fine New Orleans restaurant. We all loved it! Next time I'm going to double the recipe and freeze half, like somebody else here suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I wanted to make a spicy shrimp soup, so this seemed like the best thing to try. I followed the recipe closely except I added a 10oz package chopped mushrooms and an extra can of beans and a can of corn to make it thicker. I ate my concoction the same night I made it, and it was bland- but the flavor is about 2x more pronounced now the next day. I am almost certain you'll be disappointed if you do not let the soup rest for at least 12 hours in your fridge. All in all, I liked it a lot, and there's a lot of wiggle-room for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I use vegetable broth instead of water, and follow the tip for using Old Bay instead of dill. I add a squeeze of cilantro (tube stuff), a shake or two of cumin, and a shake or two of Tony Chachere. I fix this soup the day after I cook macaroni for other things. I save back some of the noodles just for this soup. I dump them in the pot along with the frozen shrimp and let it all heat up together. Flavor is great! Thanks for posting the recipe, we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redshirttrekie
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
It's amazing! Too easy for this college student to make and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I don't use/like canned soup, so I used this Cream Soup Base (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cream-Soup-Base/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=cream%20soup%20base&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe) instead, with half the butter. Forgot the garlic and my tomatoes did not have green chiles, but still DELICIOUS. I put in asparagus too, did not add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My husband really liked this. I made a few changes and would have to say this is one of the best shrimp recipes I've tried. And I am not a big fan of shrimp, so that is saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
We wanted a hot & spicy soup, and adapted this recipe accordingly. Turned out even better than expected. Made the following changes; 1/2 large sweet onion, chopped for green onions, 1 can RoTel Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros for diced tomatoes w/ green chilies, beef broth for water, condensed golden mushroom soup for cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 lb. shrimp/1/2 lb. sea scallops/Aidell’s Chicken & Apple sausage, 3 links for 12 ounces shrimp. The scallops, shrimp, and sausage were first rubbed w/ Badia Blackened Redfish seasoning (‘Blackened Seasoning Mix’ from this site or some other seafood rub you prefer also works), and then seafood and sausage were sautéed separately from the broth given different cooking times for each. The seafood/sausage was added to the soup after it finished cooking, and allowed to rest for 10 or so minutes. This soup is hot and spicy so it would not be suitable for some, especially young children. This goes toward the top of our list of most favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
The combination of ingredients listed here scared the life out of me. I had to try and see what all the fuss was about. Turns out, it's a very good soup! I added some veggie broth to the pot because we like our soup soupy and not dense. It was an all around winner!! We will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was REALLY good! My husband had it the next day again for lunch and said that the flavors were still distinct and it was even better. I had used the little popcorn salad shrimps that were frozen, and so the shrimps added a little more water than I would have liked. So if adding frozen shrimp, reduce the water to a half cup. It's not too thick, it works well. This is going in my fav's file for sure. And super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Loved the thicker consistency. I used Old Bay and dried cilantro instead of the dill (not measuring either) and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States