Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
We thought it was just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
i cooked this exactly, but used vegetable broth in place of chicken because it was what I had. Everything else was made to the T. We really enjoyed this a lot. By the way, my grits box said 4 cups of water to 1 cup of grits. I drained the tomato and green chili's. It was plenty thick for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have to say, I have a very picky husband and he LOVED this.Thank you for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Wonderful. I made this in triplicate. We ate the first batch tonight. The other two batches I froze before baking. I hope they will work well for "mom's not home" nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe is very simple and most delicious! As good as I have had at expensive restaurants. I don't really see a need to bake though. I simply served the cheese grits with the shrimp/veggie sauce pour over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Made this for the second time tonight for a book group reading a southern novel. My friends loved it. I'm not quite sure why, but I thought it made a bit more of a flavor statement the first time. I might have used onion rather than scallions, probably more cheddar and less Monterrey jack, and certainly white, rather than black, pepper. That being said, the dish is easy, fast (the quick grits cooked in 5 minutes), delicious and attractive. Tricolor peppers add a nice bit of color. Also, rather than draining the tomatoes and peppers as one reviewer suggested, I drained the shrimp and vegetable mix, instead of pouring that liquid into the grits. The consistency was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
My in laws loved it, only thing it was soupy and I even drained the rotel.. I also added some creole seasoning to the top and on the shrimp. The shrimp were already cooked from the store and so I only cooked for 10 minutes, didn't want the shrimp overcooked and be chewy. I didn't use the whole 1 pepper only a portion since it was diced up, looked like too much pepper if you used the whole thing.. just use your judgement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I have never made anything like this before and my southern friends LOVE this recipe. Followed it exactly as written. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was great. I will make it again. I only used 3 cups of chicken broth and it did not take 20 minutes to cook the grits, more like 5. Everything else I left the same. Next time might add a little old bay to the mix. Was really good and would def make again. Even my 2 year old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristyLC
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was looking for a great shrimp & grits recipe & this delivered! I made the recipe with ingredients/amounts exactly as written, I only changed the presentation. My first southern taste of this dish was served with the shrimp mixture over a layer of grits, so that's how I served it, omitting baking it as my grits were not runny at all as others had mentioned. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States