Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Yummy . . . yummy . . . yummy. The ultimate comfort food. Made it a one-pot meal (no need to bake) by cooking peppers, onions, and garlic in a large sauce pan first. Then cooked coarse ground grits ("Georgia ice cream") in the same pan with the sauted vegies. It's impossible to find a fresh shrimp in the heart of the Appalachian Mountains, so I thawed out cooked, shelled, deveined shrimp. Plucked the "stems" and zapped them in the microwave for a few seconds, topping the individual bowls of cheese grits with shrimp. The grits alone were divine for breakfast the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
We reduced the amount of peppers in order to make it edible band it was still hot! It was still good -- the grits we super-creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was great! One of those recipes that get better after refrigeration. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Good flavor, but very salty. Plus, I used only 3 cups of chicken broth instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this dish for dinner tonight. Though it was tasty, I wasn't thrilled by the flavor. I agree with other reviewers that omitting the salt is a must-do. Even without salt I found it to taste a bit salty. It looked very pretty, however, and the consistency was nice. I'd probably make this again but I don't think it will be a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I do have to reiterate about the grits vs. cornmeal. They are not the same!! Please do not use cornmeal in this recipe. Also, I would like to agree with the reviewer who adds crispy bacon. I fry it first, then crumble over top. That is how it is served in restaurants here in southeast N.C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondesmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was a great recipe. If you have never tried shrimp & grits give this recipe a try. I added some andouille sausage to kick it up a bit and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
THIS A SUCH A GREAT RECIPE, NEXT TIME I WILL NOT ADD ANY SALT & TAKE THE TAIL OFF THE SHRIMP. THIS ONE IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
If you are looking for one more reason to eat shrimp, look no further. Your quest is over. I tried the grits mixture prior to adding the shrimp. It is good enough to stand on it's own. But how does one say "No" to a step that calls for adding shrimp? Too, I agree w/Karine (Dec 2008) this mix cannot be limited to shrimp. I'm thinking fajita marinated chicken or steak. And also w/PantherLover (Jan 2009) bake it or don't bake it. It's terrific either way. Thank you, William A. you certainly earned the "A".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Mmmm,mmmm good! I followed this recipe to the "t" as far as the ingredients. Instead of mixing it all together, I put the shrimp mixture on top of the grits. I never eat grits unless its at breakfast with sugar. I'm glad I gave this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States