Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious!!! Ok, so I did change it just a little by cooking some bacon and sauteeing my bell pepper, onion and garlic in the bacon drippings. Once my veggies were tender, I added my shrimp, rotel tomatos with the green chilies to the mixture in the bacon drippings and let it slow cook. I also added milk to my grits while it was cooking. When my shrimp were done I served the grits in a bowl & added my shrimp mixture on top. My boyfriend is a huge shrimp & grits fan and he absolutely loved it!! The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because I added a couple things and because there is one restaurant in Atlanta that makes this dish and theirs taste a little bit better (they add some secret ingredient we can't figure out). I HIGHLY recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I used less broth as advised in other reviews, used butter, and 1/2 can chiles as I didn't have the tomato mix as stated (I used petite diced toms instead). This was even better on the second day for breakfast with toast. A good way to use the cheaper smaller shrimp always on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ttownbeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by occoastal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I love and shrimp & grits so was very eager to try out this recipe, especially after seeing all of the excellent reviews. I was disappointed. It was quite watery and very salty (and I didn't add the salt called for in the recipe). I've gone back to the reviews again and see the comments about not using so much broth. This wasn't bad but I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
DELICIOUS! I wish I could give it 10 stars. I followed the recipe as directed. The best shrimp and grits I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My boyfriend loved this, but I thought it had a strange taste...I think it might have been the chicken broth, so next time I'm to use 2 c of broth and 2 c of water. Other than that, it was great. I loved the consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great! DH said this was the best dinner all week! I skipped the can of tomatoes and used fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Htowngirl
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Made this for the first time after having some in New Orleans. These were delicious, for my own personal taste, I think I will add a little more cheese next time...mmmm cheesy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Htowngirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This has become a staple meal in our home! Sometimes I tone down the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscharff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was really good! It was my first time to eat or make shrimp and grits and I thought this was great. Very flavorful and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States