Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is my 1st review ever, and it's because this dish deserves it! Really easy and oh, so good.My husband loves it, and so do I and I don't eat grits normally. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was very good. Like most of the comments, the amount of broth could be reduced. I added creole seasoning and used an insane amount of cheese. The shrimp were a little overcooked, but next time I won't cook them completely prior to baking. Overall, good!!! Adding to the kitchen rotation for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Super delicious! I had eaten shrimp and grits at a coastal city restaurant last month and loved it! Wanted to try making it myself and tried this recipe! It turned out great! Changes I made: started out with 3 cups of low sodium chicken broth and no water and added more chicken broth as needed while the grits cooked; did not add salt; added a good sized dash of cayenne pepper and dried basil and added extra Monterrey Jack Cheese and more Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese to the mixture before putting it in the baking dish and topped the mixture with 1 full cup of the extra sharp cheddar instead the of the 1/4 cup that the recipe called for--we like cheese at our house! Three of us ate more than half of the recipe (in a 9x12 baking dish) just at dinner tonight! My only regret is that I didn't have toasted garlic bread or some kind of crusty bread to go with it!! I've read that the dish is better the next day, so by lunch tomorrow, it will all be gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Definitely the best shrimp and grits I've ever had! However,I did have to add some seasonings as it looked pretty bland as is. I only had a can of mild Rotel, so I upped the spiciness by adding a combination of red, black, and white pepper along with basil and thyme to the vegetable mixture. I seasoned the shrimp with N'Awlins seafood seasoning and used Kraft Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheese blend with a touch of Philly. If you haven't used the Philly cheeses yet, you must try them. It gave the recipe a delightful creaminess. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The base recipe was delicious. I made a couple tweaks, including 3 cups chicken broth instead of 4, fresh tomatoes and jalapeños instead of the canned, and skipped the oven step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very good! Based on other reviews, I used low-sodium broth and didn't add salt, and greatly reduced the amount of cheese (personal preference). Quick, easy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Great recipe. You absoutely cannot substitute corn meal for grits. They are totally different. If you cook the grits the full 20 minutes they will not be runny. Directions on the grits package say cook five minutes but for a true southern grits texture cook 20 minutes stirring often or they will stick to the botton of pan, and be lumpy. One review says no need to bake. Don't skip this important step.. The flavors will not come together without baking. Thanks William for a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Shumans Price

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
We made this today as written except we used quinoa in place of the grits and topped with a little extra cheese. This dish was INCREDIBLE. It was so full of flavor, it was just amazing! We loved it! I am so glad we made it! It will definitely be a regular! I suggest trying to make it using quinoa in place of grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Excellent tasting meal! I had to do lots of substitutions because I decided to make this at the last minute (2 c chicken broth and 2 c water, diced white onion for green, no peppers, kielbasa for the shrimp), but oh so yummy anyway! However we did have to eat it out of a bowl because it was so runny after baking, so next time I'm only going to use 3 cups liquid to 1 cup grits as others recommended. Also not as spicy as expected based on the title, I fed it to my 1 year old. But will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This had a very good flavor but way too salty (and I like salt!) Don't see the need to add salt to chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States