Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Not the creamy shrimp and grits I expected - mine came out with a bit of a Mexican flair (I used a can of Rotel so it is my fault), but excellent none the less! Would work well for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I was trying to come up with a way to get rid of a huge box of grits I had in my cupboard so I made this for dinner last night. Absolutely delicious! I will definitely be making this again. We ate the whole thing between two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I like this version of shrimp and grits. Slight spice. Pretty to look at with the green peppers, red tomatoes, and yellow cheese. The only change I made was to combine the uncooked shrimp with all the ingredients in the baking dish. It seemed like they would have been overcooked, otherwise. Next time I make it, I want to layer the dish. I will combine the vegetables and shrimp together and pour into the baking dish. Then I will combine the grits with the cheeses and pour on top of the shrimp layer. And, then top with a light layer of cheese. Like an upside down pineapple cake, I'm thinking this will be an upside down Spicy Shrimp and Grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was just okay for me as I prefer a more traditional Shrimp and Grits. The grits were a perfect consistency going into the oven but came out rather watery. If you let it cool before serving (hot grits are like hot lava!) they thicken up well. I drained the tomatoes and then added chicken broth to make 4 cups liquid for the grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I've been looking for a good shimp and grits recipe. This one is not just good its great!! I have also made it without the grits and served it as a side for ribs. I must warn ya its addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This recipe was excellent. I used pepper jack cheese and it was very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe, except I didn't add any salt, and I sprinkled the shrimp mixture with some creole seasoning as it cooked. Served it separately, rather than as a casserole, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This dish is so simple and delish. If you want it a little less soupy, cut your liquid to 3 cups for the grits, and drain the tomatoes before adding. I don't even put in oven, just combine in the frypan and serve. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good. I drained the rotel as suggested. I also used a 1.5 lb bag of medium frozen and cleaned shrimp. Easy easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yum. I used fresh tomatoes and threw in half a can of green chiles. I left out the salt, used one tablespoon of butter instead of 2 tblsp margarine, and used 1/2 a yellow onion because I didn't have any green onions on hand. My picky kids and my even pickier husband gobbled it down. A definite keeper. Next time, I'll cut the chicken broth down as it was a little soupy. But delicious nonetheless. Thanks William A!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States