Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This dish is so simple and delish. If you want it a little less soupy, cut your liquid to 3 cups for the grits, and drain the tomatoes before adding. I don't even put in oven, just combine in the frypan and serve. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good. I drained the rotel as suggested. I also used a 1.5 lb bag of medium frozen and cleaned shrimp. Easy easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yum. I used fresh tomatoes and threw in half a can of green chiles. I left out the salt, used one tablespoon of butter instead of 2 tblsp margarine, and used 1/2 a yellow onion because I didn't have any green onions on hand. My picky kids and my even pickier husband gobbled it down. A definite keeper. Next time, I'll cut the chicken broth down as it was a little soupy. But delicious nonetheless. Thanks William A!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I fixed this dish for my sons and me. I made it according to the recipe except I used a tsp of garlic powder instead of the minced garlic and omitted the salt. I also substituted 1 jalepeno pepper for additional heat for half of the bell pepper. Very yummy! Next time I will add some real bacon bits as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe is great and I can't wait to make it again! I didn't have the rotel so I did modify it a bit. I used frozen diced red and green peppers. I also used a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes and a small can of green chilis. I also used 2 pounds of shrimp instead of 1. I didn't have to reduce the amount of water however next time I think I will add a few more grits to thicken it up a bit. Finally I did not add salt and was glad I didn't because the flavor was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I wasnt a member of this site..I would just come on and snatch recipes!! LOLZ!...but I HAD to join to say this recipe was FABULOUS!!!! I received RAVE reveiws!!! THANK YOU for sharing it! It was amazing! I didnt change a THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have made this several times and it deserves a 5 star rating. However, I am giving this a sixth (invisible) star for ME! Yay for me! I used my own shellfish stock instead of chicken. I subbed a sharp aged white horseradish cheddar for the called for cheeses. The horseradish with the tomatos gave a subtle "cocktail sauce" taste to the dish that I was really pleased with. I used a can of fire-roasted tomatos instead of the rotel, so I added a dash of liquid smoke and a shake of ground chipotle to bring out the smoke of the tomatos . I am still patting myself on the back a day later as I eat the cold leftovers. Thanks William for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made shrimps and grits before and my husband loved it, but he really LOVES this recipes, the only thing I would change is 3 cups chicken broth and I also fried and crumbled bacon in mine before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was a winner! I cooked for longer, drained the ro-tel, and sprinkled crumbled cooked bacon over the top and allowed it to rest for about 20 minutes before serving. I'd kick up the spice a bit next time and throw in some jalapenos. It was awesome and my husband couldnt resist 2nds and 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Fantastic. Everyone was pleased with the dish. Had to cut back on the cheese it called for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thomasrichardcannon
Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States