Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I found this to be really runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Great dish! I did make several changes after reading the other reviews. I used 3 cups of broth to 1 cup of grits, omitted the salt, used butter instead of margarine, increased garlic to 4 cloves, drained the tomatoes and chilies, added a touch of real bacon bits, and a touch of hot sauce for an extra added kick. No need to bake as this is ready to serve over the cooked grits! This is a definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Very tasty! Loved it! Not 'traditional' shrimp and grits but a nice casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I have always sworn that I HATE grits but this is phenomenal! I am not a true southerner but have lived here 15 years. Make sure to add bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I omitted the salt and drained the rotel as some other reviewers suggested. I also added a tablespoon of cajun spice to the shrimp as I sauted. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
My husband and I love this recipe. It is a great comfort food on a chilly night. I use the shrimp already peeled and deveined for convenience. The only change I've made is to drain the can of chiles/tomatoes (Rotel) as it will make it way too juicy. And I add a lot more cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Yankee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This turned out terribly for me. This ended up very watery when I took it out of the oven for 45 minutes. Although, when I took it out of the oven and put it on the stove with corn starch to thicken it, the flavor was wonderful. I will not put this in the oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
EXCELLENT. I've had many shrimp and grits meals, and this was among the best - and certainly one of the easiest. Here's what I did differently: Used 3 cups of unsalted chicken stock for the grits. Added no extra salt and used unsalted butter to saute veggies. Used red pepper instead of green because I like it better. Added a package of beef smoked sausage. I used "mild" Rotel and smoked sausage instead of andoullie because my son can't deal with too much spice. Next time I'll use either original Rotel or andoulie - both might be too much. I thought I would like it "deconstructed" better, but cooking is more like a casserole was fabulous. This is definitely "company food."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
My revisions to this were minimal, so I'm still giving it 4 stars for a decent, easy base recipe. I replaced some of the broth with half-and-half, added a healthy dash of Worcestershire sauce, and combined in one pot as one reviewer suggested rather than baking. Next time I will add whole kernel corn, like a local award-winning restaurant does. Diced red pepper is also a better complement, I think, than green. It's not renowned City Grocery (Oxford, MS) Shrimp & Grits, but still not a bad recipe! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Not the creamy shrimp and grits I expected - mine came out with a bit of a Mexican flair (I used a can of Rotel so it is my fault), but excellent none the less! Would work well for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States