Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This turned out terribly for me. This ended up very watery when I took it out of the oven for 45 minutes. Although, when I took it out of the oven and put it on the stove with corn starch to thicken it, the flavor was wonderful. I will not put this in the oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
EXCELLENT. I've had many shrimp and grits meals, and this was among the best - and certainly one of the easiest. Here's what I did differently: Used 3 cups of unsalted chicken stock for the grits. Added no extra salt and used unsalted butter to saute veggies. Used red pepper instead of green because I like it better. Added a package of beef smoked sausage. I used "mild" Rotel and smoked sausage instead of andoullie because my son can't deal with too much spice. Next time I'll use either original Rotel or andoulie - both might be too much. I thought I would like it "deconstructed" better, but cooking is more like a casserole was fabulous. This is definitely "company food."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
My revisions to this were minimal, so I'm still giving it 4 stars for a decent, easy base recipe. I replaced some of the broth with half-and-half, added a healthy dash of Worcestershire sauce, and combined in one pot as one reviewer suggested rather than baking. Next time I will add whole kernel corn, like a local award-winning restaurant does. Diced red pepper is also a better complement, I think, than green. It's not renowned City Grocery (Oxford, MS) Shrimp & Grits, but still not a bad recipe! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Not the creamy shrimp and grits I expected - mine came out with a bit of a Mexican flair (I used a can of Rotel so it is my fault), but excellent none the less! Would work well for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I was trying to come up with a way to get rid of a huge box of grits I had in my cupboard so I made this for dinner last night. Absolutely delicious! I will definitely be making this again. We ate the whole thing between two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I like this version of shrimp and grits. Slight spice. Pretty to look at with the green peppers, red tomatoes, and yellow cheese. The only change I made was to combine the uncooked shrimp with all the ingredients in the baking dish. It seemed like they would have been overcooked, otherwise. Next time I make it, I want to layer the dish. I will combine the vegetables and shrimp together and pour into the baking dish. Then I will combine the grits with the cheeses and pour on top of the shrimp layer. And, then top with a light layer of cheese. Like an upside down pineapple cake, I'm thinking this will be an upside down Spicy Shrimp and Grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was just okay for me as I prefer a more traditional Shrimp and Grits. The grits were a perfect consistency going into the oven but came out rather watery. If you let it cool before serving (hot grits are like hot lava!) they thicken up well. I drained the tomatoes and then added chicken broth to make 4 cups liquid for the grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I've been looking for a good shimp and grits recipe. This one is not just good its great!! I have also made it without the grits and served it as a side for ribs. I must warn ya its addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This recipe was excellent. I used pepper jack cheese and it was very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe, except I didn't add any salt, and I sprinkled the shrimp mixture with some creole seasoning as it cooked. Served it separately, rather than as a casserole, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States