Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
The best shrimp and grits I have ever had hands down!!!! Very flavorful and I loved all the colors the veggies added. The only change I made was adding andouille sausage, which I felt gave it a hint of spice without overpowering. I thinly sliced four smoked andouille sausages and browned them in a pan, then simply added in with the vegetable mixture. Definitely a keeper recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
We thought it was just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
i cooked this exactly, but used vegetable broth in place of chicken because it was what I had. Everything else was made to the T. We really enjoyed this a lot. By the way, my grits box said 4 cups of water to 1 cup of grits. I drained the tomato and green chili's. It was plenty thick for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have to say, I have a very picky husband and he LOVED this.Thank you for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Wonderful. I made this in triplicate. We ate the first batch tonight. The other two batches I froze before baking. I hope they will work well for "mom's not home" nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe is very simple and most delicious! As good as I have had at expensive restaurants. I don't really see a need to bake though. I simply served the cheese grits with the shrimp/veggie sauce pour over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Made this for the second time tonight for a book group reading a southern novel. My friends loved it. I'm not quite sure why, but I thought it made a bit more of a flavor statement the first time. I might have used onion rather than scallions, probably more cheddar and less Monterrey jack, and certainly white, rather than black, pepper. That being said, the dish is easy, fast (the quick grits cooked in 5 minutes), delicious and attractive. Tricolor peppers add a nice bit of color. Also, rather than draining the tomatoes and peppers as one reviewer suggested, I drained the shrimp and vegetable mix, instead of pouring that liquid into the grits. The consistency was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
My in laws loved it, only thing it was soupy and I even drained the rotel.. I also added some creole seasoning to the top and on the shrimp. The shrimp were already cooked from the store and so I only cooked for 10 minutes, didn't want the shrimp overcooked and be chewy. I didn't use the whole 1 pepper only a portion since it was diced up, looked like too much pepper if you used the whole thing.. just use your judgement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I have never made anything like this before and my southern friends LOVE this recipe. Followed it exactly as written. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was great. I will make it again. I only used 3 cups of chicken broth and it did not take 20 minutes to cook the grits, more like 5. Everything else I left the same. Next time might add a little old bay to the mix. Was really good and would def make again. Even my 2 year old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States