Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was super delicious! I like shrimp, I like grits...why not together? I skipped the Monterey Jack cheese and increased the cheddar to 2 cups (doubled the recipe). We ate this with collard greens and turnips. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I made this recipe last night. Just wanted to try something different :) My husband really liked it. I omitted the Monterey Jack cheese because I didn't have any on hand. I also added Cayenne pepper as someone else suggested because we like things extra spicy. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was sooooo yummy! The only thing I changed is that I used the frozen onion/green peppers/red pepper mix (cause I'm all for fast and easy). And maybe next time I'll also add a bag of frozen salad shrimp, just to have a little more shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is a great idea ... I have seen this recipe before but it's always with the shrimp mixture served separately on top. I have to comment on the reviewer who said to substitute cornmeal for grits because they were the same thing. They're not! (I'm a southerner). It's true that both are made from corn but they are ground and processed completely differently and often made from different parts of the corn kernel. Supermarket cornmeal is much more finely ground; boiling it up will basically give you polenta. It's good, but that's not what the recipe calls for. Grits are much more coarsely ground and have a distinctive chewiness when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
A very good recipe! I tried grits for the first time ever (such a California girl!)This was so savory even without the shrimp! I followed the recipe but added a little red pepper flake per our taste. I let the casserole set up for 15 minutes after the cooking time. My husband last had grits in the Navy - he was a little unsure about this preparation at first. After dinner he was still eating the grits, dipping garlic bread in them and telling me how fantastic they were. Thank you for a very tasty recipe and a reason to try something new. We will enjoy this again soon! BTW, I found grits at my local WalMart (of all places) in their food isle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
For anyone not from the south, before you go nuts trying to find 'grits' in your local supermarket what you want is more comonly known as Cornmeal. Anywho, Very good recipe, really enjoyed it, made a couple small modifications, used fresh tomatoes and sweet jalapeno peppers, a little more pepper and cheese. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is awesome. I have never had grits before and I'm so glad this is the recipe I decided to try. The only change I made was to use water to cook the grits instead of chicken broth, just because I didn't have any broth. I also added a touch of cayenne to the grits for a little more spice. This has made the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Thank you, thank you! Restaurant quality! My husband and I made it together and had a lot of fun. Very easy. We enjoyed this recipe so much. Quite the comfort food. I'd recommend letting sit 10 minutes after baking to thicken up some and to serve with bread. We added a bit of creole seasoning for a little bit of an extra kick. Can't say enough good things about this recipe. My husband and I made it together and had a lot of fun. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-118 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

These easy shrimp have lots of flavor and a great little “kick.”

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States