Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Delish!! My husband loved this. It will become a part of my regular rotation. Based on some reviews that the dish was a bit runny, I reduced the chicken stock from 4 cups to 3 1/2 and drained the tomatoes. I also added turkey sausage and some cayenne pepper. Finally, I had cooked shrimp instead of raw, so I added them 10 minutues before I took the dish out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe was surprisingly AMAZING! It could work with many vegetables and other meats as well. I'm thinking mushrooms, spinach, sausage, bacon... will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving breakfast. I was simply delicious. Even the skeptics were impressed. The next time I will add more tomatoes because I love tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I made this for a party and it was cleaned out in no time. I added 14 oz of spicy cajun sausage cut into small bites. Cook the sausage in with the onions, peppers and shrimp. It gave the dish a nice spicy flavor. I did not include the tomatoes but I did add a can of green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My family really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
In a word "AWESOME"!!! We live in SC, so we have tried many shrimp and grits dishes and this is one of our favorites!!! Leftovers weren't so great , but then there weren't many of them anyway!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntpenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Wow, all I had to do was lick the spoon after putting the dish in the oven to know it is going to be one delicious dinner! Of course I have a variation because I didn't have all the ingredients. I browned up kielbasa to go along with the shrimp and omitted the tomatoes and chilis because I forgot those at the grocery store. This is a keeper for sure, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband thought it was very good...he is from the south and a picky eater as well, it is hard to find recipes that he really likes...this is definately a keeper. The only change I made was to put in a couple of jalapeno peppers per his request and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LELE44
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Never again will I pay $16 for this dish at a restaurant! I added crispy bacon to my dish. It came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This recipe was simple and very good -- hubby and I both enjoyed it. I'm wondering if some people's turned out runny because the recipe calls for 4 cups of stock to 1 cup of grits. I just followed the directions for the grits on the box and it only called for 3 cups of liquid. I also drained the tomatoes & chilies. For presentation, I think I'd prefer a "deconstructed" version of this recipe, but for a casual meal with family, a one-pan recipe is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States