Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
In a word "AWESOME"!!! We live in SC, so we have tried many shrimp and grits dishes and this is one of our favorites!!! Leftovers weren't so great , but then there weren't many of them anyway!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntpenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Wow, all I had to do was lick the spoon after putting the dish in the oven to know it is going to be one delicious dinner! Of course I have a variation because I didn't have all the ingredients. I browned up kielbasa to go along with the shrimp and omitted the tomatoes and chilis because I forgot those at the grocery store. This is a keeper for sure, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband thought it was very good...he is from the south and a picky eater as well, it is hard to find recipes that he really likes...this is definately a keeper. The only change I made was to put in a couple of jalapeno peppers per his request and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LELE44
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Never again will I pay $16 for this dish at a restaurant! I added crispy bacon to my dish. It came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This recipe was simple and very good -- hubby and I both enjoyed it. I'm wondering if some people's turned out runny because the recipe calls for 4 cups of stock to 1 cup of grits. I just followed the directions for the grits on the box and it only called for 3 cups of liquid. I also drained the tomatoes & chilies. For presentation, I think I'd prefer a "deconstructed" version of this recipe, but for a casual meal with family, a one-pan recipe is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was a great dish. I served it for brunch today and had to make copies of the recipe for our friends. The only thing I can suggest for those who think it is a little runny is to drain the tomatoes and green chilies before adding to the mixture. Then it is perfect. The recipe didn't specify to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I was a little disappointed after all the reviews. It was good but a little runny and needed a little something, okra maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent - didn't make any changes - hubby loved and said it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is such a great recipe and not bad on calories either. I left the salt out and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
My husband really liked this recipe. I thought it was a bit runny for my preference. Will probably make it again, reducing the liquid, and will add some cheese and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States