Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
WOW! This was one of my favorite dishes at a local restaurant when we lived in Atlanta. What a wonderful find, I think it was even better than the restaurant version. Husband LOVED it and coming from a real Southerner that was quite the compliment. THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I made this twice last week! First just to try it and then again on Sat. for a baby shower brunch. They loved it! I used 1 1/2 lbs shrimp, drained the tomatoes and you only need 1/2 the can or it may be too spicy for some (and I like spicy.) I added 3 eggs (tempered) to the grits before adding all the other ingredients. I also added 1/2 lb bacon fried and crumbled to the mixture. I sauteed the veggies in some of the bacon fat. Yummy! I am sharing this with others who have asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Use THREE cups of chicken broth to ONE cup of grits - NO NEED TO BAKE! -after all ingredients are combined in the grits pot, add shrimp and eat after they turn pink - super delicious! We use Ro*tel tomatoes for a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Excellent recipe for shrimp and grits. I used half chicken stock and half water, and drained the tomotoes and chiles. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
MMMM! I used Pepper Jack cheese instead of Monterey, yellow bell pepper, a medium chopped tomato instead of canned tomatoes, and a little less salt. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Delish!! My husband loved this. It will become a part of my regular rotation. Based on some reviews that the dish was a bit runny, I reduced the chicken stock from 4 cups to 3 1/2 and drained the tomatoes. I also added turkey sausage and some cayenne pepper. Finally, I had cooked shrimp instead of raw, so I added them 10 minutues before I took the dish out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe was surprisingly AMAZING! It could work with many vegetables and other meats as well. I'm thinking mushrooms, spinach, sausage, bacon... will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving breakfast. I was simply delicious. Even the skeptics were impressed. The next time I will add more tomatoes because I love tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I made this for a party and it was cleaned out in no time. I added 14 oz of spicy cajun sausage cut into small bites. Cook the sausage in with the onions, peppers and shrimp. It gave the dish a nice spicy flavor. I did not include the tomatoes but I did add a can of green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My family really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States