Spicy Shrimp Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were very good. We had them for our Good Friday dinner and I bought large wild pink shrimp at Wegmans that were very easy to peel (they were pre-deveined) and I marinated them for several hours. I put them on bamboo skewers that I had soaked for several hours in water. My husband grilled them until they were done and I served them with pineapple coleslaw. The only thing missing was some sort of light sauce. They were flavorful but I missed having a sauce to dip the shrimp into. I will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGIRLEJFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend to accompany his steak, and he liked the shrimp a lot better than the steak itself (and he still really liked the steak). I only made 1 skewer, so I scaled back on the marinade mixture a lot. Instead of jerk seasoning, I used Cajun seasoning because I had some on hand. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I didn't eat them because I'm a vegetarian, but I have to admit they smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
YUMMO! This was great! I followed the recipe, and I added a tad bit of garlic powder. My shrimp only marinated for about 45 minutes and were cooked on a George Foreman. Served on top of Bamati (sp?) rice w/ Hoppin' John as a side dish (it's New Year's Day), this served as a balanced savory, sweet, & spicy dish that was refreshing for the month of January. I can't wait to make this at future BBQs this summer served w/ pineapples on the skewer w/ the shrimp. p.s. This marinade would also be great w/ salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I used cooked jumbo shrimp and it was still to die for! So spicy. I also garnished with cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
We had this for supper last night and it was just as good as what we've eaten in Jamaican restaurants. We'll have this again. The only thing I did differently was I used metal skewers instead of wooden. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I loved this recipe. It had a nice amount of heat. Not too much, just right. I will make this a weekly meal in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Yum!! Marinated precooked shrimp for 4 hours and cooked them on a grill pan. Smoky for inside cooking (similar to blackening seasoning) but I liked how the marinade on the shrimp caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We love this and most often use it on grilled chicken. I like to double the recipe and use half to marinate in and save half to baste with while the shrimp/chicken is on the grill. I also double the amount of hot sauce because we like things pretty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Scrumptious!! Sweet and spicy....and even the Hubster noticed and loved these. Very nice marinade...will definately make again. I did use Caribbean Jerk Seasoning...dont know if there is a difference or not with just plain Jerk Seasoning. Loved these, grilled perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by alicianyc
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Taste great w/ avocado and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

These easy shrimp have lots of flavor and a great little “kick.”

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States