Spicy Shrimp Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We love this and most often use it on grilled chicken. I like to double the recipe and use half to marinate in and save half to baste with while the shrimp/chicken is on the grill. I also double the amount of hot sauce because we like things pretty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were very good. We had them for our Good Friday dinner and I bought large wild pink shrimp at Wegmans that were very easy to peel (they were pre-deveined) and I marinated them for several hours. I put them on bamboo skewers that I had soaked for several hours in water. My husband grilled them until they were done and I served them with pineapple coleslaw. The only thing missing was some sort of light sauce. They were flavorful but I missed having a sauce to dip the shrimp into. I will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I used cooked jumbo shrimp and it was still to die for! So spicy. I also garnished with cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
YUMMO! This was great! I followed the recipe, and I added a tad bit of garlic powder. My shrimp only marinated for about 45 minutes and were cooked on a George Foreman. Served on top of Bamati (sp?) rice w/ Hoppin' John as a side dish (it's New Year's Day), this served as a balanced savory, sweet, & spicy dish that was refreshing for the month of January. I can't wait to make this at future BBQs this summer served w/ pineapples on the skewer w/ the shrimp. p.s. This marinade would also be great w/ salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Yum!! Marinated precooked shrimp for 4 hours and cooked them on a grill pan. Smoky for inside cooking (similar to blackening seasoning) but I liked how the marinade on the shrimp caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Scrumptious!! Sweet and spicy....and even the Hubster noticed and loved these. Very nice marinade...will definately make again. I did use Caribbean Jerk Seasoning...dont know if there is a difference or not with just plain Jerk Seasoning. Loved these, grilled perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by alicianyc
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Taste great w/ avocado and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend to accompany his steak, and he liked the shrimp a lot better than the steak itself (and he still really liked the steak). I only made 1 skewer, so I scaled back on the marinade mixture a lot. Instead of jerk seasoning, I used Cajun seasoning because I had some on hand. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I didn't eat them because I'm a vegetarian, but I have to admit they smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
We had this for supper last night and it was just as good as what we've eaten in Jamaican restaurants. We'll have this again. The only thing I did differently was I used metal skewers instead of wooden. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I loved this recipe. It had a nice amount of heat. Not too much, just right. I will make this a weekly meal in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States