Spicy Shrimp Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend to accompany his steak, and he liked the shrimp a lot better than the steak itself (and he still really liked the steak). I only made 1 skewer, so I scaled back on the marinade mixture a lot. Instead of jerk seasoning, I used Cajun seasoning because I had some on hand. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I didn't eat them because I'm a vegetarian, but I have to admit they smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This was pretty good. I made it according to the recipe but scaled back a bit on the spicy stuff. It took longer than five minutes on each side on the grill. Made it with Roasted Vegetables on this site (AWESOME)and margaritas. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were very good. We had them for our Good Friday dinner and I bought large wild pink shrimp at Wegmans that were very easy to peel (they were pre-deveined) and I marinated them for several hours. I put them on bamboo skewers that I had soaked for several hours in water. My husband grilled them until they were done and I served them with pineapple coleslaw. The only thing missing was some sort of light sauce. They were flavorful but I missed having a sauce to dip the shrimp into. I will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGIRLEJFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I could not find any jerk seasoning, so I also substituted Cajun seasoning. Personally, I really liked this, a very good balance of flavors. My husband however did not like this, as he thought that the flavors masked the flavor of the shrimp too much. (He does tend to like things pretty plain though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
good taste. I added a lot more of the spice and some chopped jalapeno to make it spicier. I do wish it wasn't so runny, I would love to keep some on the side for dipping the shrimp but it's not quite thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is so yummy! I couldn't find jerk seasoning so I used a jerk sauce in place of the seasoning. I'm making them again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have jerk spice so I used cajun and they were so yummy. I marinated the shrimp overnight and the flavor was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
YUMMO! This was great! I followed the recipe, and I added a tad bit of garlic powder. My shrimp only marinated for about 45 minutes and were cooked on a George Foreman. Served on top of Bamati (sp?) rice w/ Hoppin' John as a side dish (it's New Year's Day), this served as a balanced savory, sweet, & spicy dish that was refreshing for the month of January. I can't wait to make this at future BBQs this summer served w/ pineapples on the skewer w/ the shrimp. p.s. This marinade would also be great w/ salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This will wake up your mouth! At first I was skeptical about the lime juice/honey mix as I've tried that as a marinade from a different recipe with less than stellar results. But adding some jerk seasoning and hot sauce takes it to an entirely new level. Instead of purchasing jerk seasoning, mix together these common pantry items: 1 Tbs onion powder, 2 tsp brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsp allspice, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp each: ground ginger, cinnamon, cayenne, 1/4 tsp each: nutmeg, garlic powder, black pepper, salt-if using (yield ~3 Tbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and the shrimp cooked perfectly (although I think I only grilled them a total of about 4 minutes and they were done). However, I found the shrimp WAY too sweet. Granted, the recipe calls for honey, and the description said tangy and sweet, but it tasted way too sugary for me. I guess I was thinking it would have just a little sweetness like jerk-flavored food. It needed much less honey and more soy sauce or something. I had trouble with the shrimp sticking to the grill, so more than 1 tsp. of oil would help. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States