Spicy Shrimp Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe, but because I did not have lime juice, I used lemon juice, and like others used cajun seasoning, as I did not have jerk seasoning. I used the exact amount of ingredients with one lb. of shrimp, marinated for five hours,and broiled these shrimp in my convection oven four minutes on each side 400 degrees. Well, these were delicious, and perfectly cooked; loved the spicy/sweet combo. This will replace my other shrimp recipe. Also, did not use skewers, just put them in a broiler pan close to fire, which added a wonderful char broiled flavor. Cannot wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This will wake up your mouth! At first I was skeptical about the lime juice/honey mix as I've tried that as a marinade from a different recipe with less than stellar results. But adding some jerk seasoning and hot sauce takes it to an entirely new level. Instead of purchasing jerk seasoning, mix together these common pantry items: 1 Tbs onion powder, 2 tsp brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsp allspice, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp each: ground ginger, cinnamon, cayenne, 1/4 tsp each: nutmeg, garlic powder, black pepper, salt-if using (yield ~3 Tbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I could not find any jerk seasoning, so I also substituted Cajun seasoning. Personally, I really liked this, a very good balance of flavors. My husband however did not like this, as he thought that the flavors masked the flavor of the shrimp too much. (He does tend to like things pretty plain though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
good taste. I added a lot more of the spice and some chopped jalapeno to make it spicier. I do wish it wasn't so runny, I would love to keep some on the side for dipping the shrimp but it's not quite thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is so yummy! I couldn't find jerk seasoning so I used a jerk sauce in place of the seasoning. I'm making them again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have jerk spice so I used cajun and they were so yummy. I marinated the shrimp overnight and the flavor was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicianyc
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Taste great w/ avocado and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and the shrimp cooked perfectly (although I think I only grilled them a total of about 4 minutes and they were done). However, I found the shrimp WAY too sweet. Granted, the recipe calls for honey, and the description said tangy and sweet, but it tasted way too sugary for me. I guess I was thinking it would have just a little sweetness like jerk-flavored food. It needed much less honey and more soy sauce or something. I had trouble with the shrimp sticking to the grill, so more than 1 tsp. of oil would help. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Scrumptious!! Sweet and spicy....and even the Hubster noticed and loved these. Very nice marinade...will definately make again. I did use Caribbean Jerk Seasoning...dont know if there is a difference or not with just plain Jerk Seasoning. Loved these, grilled perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We love this and most often use it on grilled chicken. I like to double the recipe and use half to marinate in and save half to baste with while the shrimp/chicken is on the grill. I also double the amount of hot sauce because we like things pretty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States