Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this is just like the recipe my grandma used to make. i added a little green pepper and worchestershire sauce, like grandma did. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
this was ok but i have made others that were more flavorful and had better texture. i prefer the shrimp creole III recipe from this site because it is closer to my grandma's version. i ended up adding green onions and lemon juice to help it. i think making a roux and adding thyme would have helped also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
LOVE this recipe!!! The taste is incredible.I made only a few changes because I didn't have all the ingredients. I added red bell pepper instead of celery and 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper and 1/2 tsp ground red pepper instead of cayenne pepper. I had no idea the taste would be so flavorful. Very spicy as the title states. Will definitely make again. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Simple to make, more than enough to feed the crowd, lots of spice, not so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This recipe is fabulous! I made it with crushed tomatoes with green chiles, which gave it an extra kick. Also, I served on brown rice. Completely excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose G
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Spicy certainly describes this dish...I loved it but hubby wimped out on me. I wanted to make a take off of the New Orleans classic...Creole Shrimp and Grits so I served this over the Lemony Quinoa (on this site) and I felt it was absolutely fabulous. Made the Shrimp Creole following recipe exactly but next time I'll cut back on the cayenne pepper and hot sauce and add to my serving at the table. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Easy to make and delicious. Respect the cayene portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I was craving a spicy shrimp dish and this really hit the spot. I did get a little crazy with the recipe and once it was served over rice it was more like gumbo. I added a diced bell pepper, more garlic, sliced andouille sausage (reduced shrimp to 1 lb), and a can of black eyed peas I had on hand. I also added a splash of sherry vinegar which really helped brighten the tomato flavor. With a glass of pinot gris and a few hefty slabs of cornbread, this was one delicious meal. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
A little too spicy for me, next time Iwould cut down on the cayenne pepper and hot sauce. I am from Louisiana and I enjoy spicy, but I was looking for a recipe that would compliment the shrimp. In this recipe, I felt, the shrimp was overpowered by the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States