Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This is a quick and very good flavor. The only change I made was to 1/2 the recipe (just the two of us)and I used fresh tomotoes and fresh shrimp. Served with white rice, crusty bread and salad. Wonderful meal and very quick. I plan to use for a large family meal as it would be easy to pre-cook everything ahead. Just throw in the shrimp and reheat while preparing the rice. Nice company meal. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
That was great! My boyfriend said it reminded him of being back home on the bayou. I followed suggestions from some of the others. I added one chopped green bell pepper. I used one 8 oz can of tomato paste, 1 14.5 oz can of stewed tomatoes and one 14.5 oz can of rotel. I didn't really measure the spices. Just dumped in cayenne and tabasco until it looked about right. I let it cook in the slow cooker on low for 6 hours and then added the shrimp and let it cook another 2 hours. It was perfect and pretty spicy. Thanks Pamela, I've been looking for some recipes that would taste like dishes my boyfriend used to eat in Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This was good but next time I would cut down on the cayenne pepper. Served it New Year's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Excellent...but I doctored a little...added 1/4 cup wine, a slpash of worshester, juice of a lime, can of Rotel, green and red pepper, less celery, cooked the sauce for an hour.....my sister says it was better than her real Cajun recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
Really tasty creole recipe. I pretty much followed the recipe without any substitutions with the exception of using extra hot Rotel instead of crushed tomatoes. I would also recommend getting fresh shrimp from the seafood counter at your grocery store instead of the frozen kind. Frozen shrimp tend to give it a funny taste. Pour it over a bed of freshly made white rice and some hot buttered cornbread and you have yourself a meal made in cajun heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Houton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Loved it! My husband really loved it. He loves spicy food so I doubled the Cayenne pepper and used Habenero Pepper sauce....and tons of it. He was in heaven. Not to mention that this recipe is actually rather heathly. What more could I want! Definitely use fresh shrimp if you can...I used half fresh and half left over frozen cooked shrimp I already had on hand and the fresh shrimp really did taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This was easy to prepare and very flavorful! Next time I will add scallops or crabmeat. I did cut the pepper sauce in half and the overall flavor was very balanced. Excellent. Can't wait to try this again to serve to friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
"Spicy" is the keyword here! I followed the recipe to the letter...it was delicious and has a great "kick" (I would hold back on some of the pepper if serving to kids or people who are not spicy food fans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
Excellent flavor. I substituted cajun style stewed tomatoes and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
This was incredibly good, easy to make, but too spicy for 3 of my 4 family members. I'll make it again, for sure, but with less cayenne! Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States