Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I liked this recipe because it had just the right amount of heat. I skimped on the shrimp and the meal suffered. I'll use the full 2 lbs next time. Also, I added 2 chopped green peppers. It's a definate must. One recommendation is do not crush the bay leaf. Add it whole. It'll make it easier to remove at Step 4. I will definately make this again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Nicely written and executed recipe. Easy to follow and make. To round it out, I will add bell pepper next time as bell pepper, onion and celery go hand in hand in hand in New Orleans cooking. Other reviews complained of it tasting like celery....I would suggest cooking the onion/celery (bell pepper) longer. Very well recieved with my group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Tasty! The only modification I've made were to add thichly sliced Aidell's Andoullie sausage, a little red wine and sub wole tomatoes vs. crushed. The Andouille sausage give it a little more zip-tang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My hubby loved it - didn't have hot sauce, so I used 1 1/2 tsp of red pepper - great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I added less of the crushed tomatoes (2x10 ounces instead of 2x14 oz), took out the celery since I don't like it, added a bit of worcestershire sauce, and added half a pound of fresh seafood mix aside from the shrimp, and it came out really, really good! My man absolutely loved it! Will definitely make it again! Thanks, Pamela, for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
So delicious Pam! I too added worst.sauce, green bell pepper and some paprika. Loved the spice! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe is HOT...but awesome! I made it for my husband who is a big fan of spicy food (I'm not, but couldn't stop eating it!). I left out the celery; added more garlic, some mushrooms, and a little bacon. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This recipe has the flavour and consistency we've been looking for. Substituted peppers and mushrooms for the 2nd cup of celery and added some back bacon instead of the 2nd pound of shrimp. Poured over hot buttered rice or with sourdough bread on the side. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Excellent...but I doctored a little...added 1/4 cup wine, a slpash of worshester, juice of a lime, can of Rotel, green and red pepper, less celery, cooked the sauce for an hour.....my sister says it was better than her real Cajun recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I made this recipe today for the first time. It was quick, simple, easy, and tasty. It is pretty darned hot though; if you or your loved ones aren't into sinus opening hot-tone down the hot sauce a little (1/2 T. maybe) and it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States